Grateful Dead ‘Dave’s Picks Volume 29’ Features 1st Show Of 1977


2019 Subscriptions for the Grateful Dead’s Dave’s Picks series of live archival releases are available for purchase now via Those who buy subscriptions will receive all four 2019 installments of Dave’s Picks. As part of the announcement comes word Dave’s Picks Volume 29 will feature the band’s February 26, 1977 show from Swing Auditorium in San Bernardino, California.

Dave’s Picks Volume 29 is sourced from master reels taped by the great Betty Cantor-Jackson. The Grateful Dead opened the concert with the newly composed “Terrapin Station,” which would soon take up the entire second side of its namesake LP released later in July. In addition, the band fit the debut of the instant classic “Estimated Prophet” into their first show of 1977. Other highlights include a pretty “They Love Each Other,” impressive “Help On The Way” > “Slipknot!” > “Franklin’s Tower” and standout sequence of “Eyes Of The World” > “Dancin’ In The Streets.” Plus, Dave’s Picks Volume 29 will contain everything in the archives from the next night’s show in Santa Barbara, which is the tail end of the second “Terrapin Station” as well as “Morning Dew,” “Sugar Magnolia” and “Johnny B. Goode.” Head here to purchase a 2019 Dave’s Picks subscription and watch archivist David Lemieux’s “Seaside Chat” below:

Home v2


Grateful Dead at Swing Auditorium

Set 1
  • Terrapin Station  
  • Minglewood Blues  
  • They Love Each Other  
  • Estimated Prophet  
  • Sugaree  
  • Mama Tried  
  • Deal  
  • Playing in the Band  
  • The Wheel  
Set 2
  • Samson and Delilah  
  • Tennessee Jed
  • The Music Never Stopped
  • Help on the Way  
  • Slipknot!  
  • Franklin's Tower
  • Promised Land  
  • Eyes of the World
  • Dancing in the Street  
  • Around and Around  
  • U.S. Blues