Gov’t Mule Welcomes Guest Galore For Peach Festival Set


Yesterday Gov’t Mule took to the stage at the Peach Music Festival for a set that came with advance promise that the band would be joined by some special guests. Going into last night’s set the lone artist that was confirmed was guitarist John Scofield, who has teamed with Mule numerous times over the years, notable for a tour back in 2015 and at a pair of 1999 shows that yielded the live album Sco-Mule. Other than the jazz guitarist, the rest would be revealed over the course of Mule’s two-hour set.

Warren Haynes & Co. opened their set unadorned as they played a trio of tunes from their most recent studio release Revolution Come…Revolution Go. From there all bets were off as the parade of sit-ins began. First up was blues singer-guitarist Marcus King and former Allman Brothers Band guitarist Jack Pearson for a cover of the Marshall Tucker Band’s classic “Can’t You See.” Next up, Scofield and keyboardist Chuck Leavell (Rolling Stones, Allman Brothers Band) emerged for a take on the Mule fan-favorite “Soulshine,” which segued straight into “Night Time Is The Right Time,” a tune that was originally recorded by Roosevelt Sykes, but popularized by Ray Charles.

Scofield stuck around for the old school Warren Haynes original “Devil Likes It Slow” and Mule’s “Which Way Do We Run.” Haynes’ old ABB band mate Marc Quinones emerged next to join the augmented band for a take on Scofield’s “Hottentot,” from A Go Go, his 1998 collaborative album with Medeski, Martin and Wood, and “Kind Of Bird,” from the Allman Brothers’ 1991 release Shades Of Two Worlds.

Mule settled back in as a four-piece for “Traveling Tune,” which eventually wound its way into a cover of Neil Young & Crazy Horse’s “Cortez The Killer.” As the band settled into the track from Young’s 1973 Zuma, they were joined by their final guests of the night – Widespread Panic’s John Bell and Jimmy Herring to close out the memorable set.

Check out fan-shot video captured by Sean Roche, and the full setlist, below:

[Can’t You See (Marshall Tucker Band Cover)]

[Traveling Tune]


Traveling Tune > Stone Cold Rage, Revolution Come, Revolution Go, Can’t You See (with Marcus King & Jack Pearson), Soulshine > (with Chuck Leavell & John Scofield), Night Time Is The Right Time (with Chuck Leavell & John Scofield), Devil Likes It Slow (with John Scofield, Les Brers In A Minor tease), Which Way Do We Run (with John Scofield), Hottentot (with John Scofield & Marc Quiñones), Kind Of Bird (with John Scofield & Marc Quiñones), Traveling Tune > Cortez The Killer (with Jimmy Herring & John Bell)

  • Upcoming Shows