Gov’t Mule Announces New Album ‘Heavy Load Blues’ & Shares Single

Listen to lead single "Heavy Load" and watch a behind-the-scenes video documenting the making of the album.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 8, 2021 7:45 am PDT

Gov’t Mule will release a studio album entitled Heavy Load Blues through Fantasy Records on November 12. The 13-track effort marks the band’s first blues album and has been previewed with lead single “Heavy Load.”

Heavy Load Blues features a mix of songs penned by frontman Warren Haynes and covers popularized by such artists as Elmore James, Ann Peebles, Tom Waits, Howlin’ Wolf and Bobby “Blue” Bland. The follow-up to 2017’s Revolution Come…Revolution Go was recorded live in the studio to analog tape at The Power Station New England in Waterford, Connecticut. Haynes co-produced Heavy Load Blues with John Paterno (Michael Landau, Robbie Williams, The Steve Gadd Band).

“For me, personally, it’s kind of been on my list of things to do for years,” Haynes said regarding Heavy Load Blues. “I didn’t know if it was gonna be a solo album or a Gov’t Mule record. We play some traditional blues on stage from time to time and although it’s usually never more than a few songs per show, our approach to the blues is unique and based on our collective chemistry as a band.”

Haynes, drummer Matt Abts, bassist Jorgen Carlsson and multi-instrumentalist Danny Louis aimed to “capture an authentic sound” by using vintage guitars, amps and other equipment. “This album gave us a mission,” Warren continued. “Although in some way it was ‘anything goes,’ we wanted to stay true to the spirit of the blues in a traditional sense. It’s not a blues/rock record – it’s a blues record. We wanted it sonically to sound different from a normal Gov’t Mule record.”

Heavy Load Blues is available for pre-order in a variety of formats. Deluxe Editions feature a bonus disc containing additional songs, extended versions and live recordings.

Listen to “Heavy Load” and watch a behind-the-scenes video documenting the making of Heavy Load Blues, which premiered via Brooklyn Vegan, below:

Heavy Load

Making Of Heavy Load Blues

Heavy Load Blues Tracklist

  1. Blues Before Sunrise
  2. Hole In My Soul
  3. Wake Up Dead
  4. Love Is A Mean Old World
  5. Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It
  6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
  7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt
  8. Make It Rain
  9. Heavy Load
  10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home
  11. If Heartaches Were Nickels
  12. I Asked Her For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
  13. Black Horizon

Deluxe Version – Bonus Tracks

  1. Hiding Place
  2. You Know My Love
  3. Street Corner Talking
  4. Have Mercy On The Criminal
  5. Long Distance Call
  6. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home (Extended Version)
  7. Need Your Love So Bad (Live)
  8. Good Morning Little School Girl with Hook Herrera (Live)

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections