Full Show Pro-Shot Video: Hot Tuna Featuring Steve Kimock Play The Capitol Theatre


Hot Tuna are currently in the midst of a run of shows featuring special guest Steve Kimock on guitar. Last night the legendary blues-rock act pulled into Port Chester, NY for a two set show at The Capitol Theatre, which as we previously reported was webcast for free via Relix’s YouTube Channel.

Hot Tuna are no strangers to the famed rock palace having first place the room all the way back in 1970 according to TunaBase and continued to do so throughout the venue’s original heyday during that decade. Longtime friends and band mates Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady began the night as a three-piece as they delivered a pair of cuts from Kaukonen’s solo catalog as well as traditional blues tunes that have been been long time staples in Hot Tuna’s repertoire – Son House’s “Walkin’ Blues” and Blind Blake’s “That’ll Never Happen No More.” Guitarist Steve Kimock emerged towards the back end of the set with the augmented act digging in the traditional song “Hesitation Blues.” Kimock’s own “Ode To Billy Dean” and Bobby Rush’s “Bowlegged Woman, Knocked Kneed Man” brought the first set to a close.

The band opened their second frame with a pair of Hot Tuna originals “Serpent Of Dreams” from their 1975 release America’s Choice, and “Living Just For You” from 1974’s The Phosphorescent Rat. Hot Tuna looked to a pair of blues legends later in the set offering up takes on Muddy Waters’ “I Can’t Be Satisfied” and B.B. King’s “Rock Me Baby.” Jorma and Jack also paid tribute to their time together in Jefferson Airplane delivering takes on “Trail By Fire” from the Airplane’s 1972 album Long John Silver and “Good Sheppard” with Kimock assisting on the Volunteers track.

Watch pro-shot full show video and check out the setlist below


Hot Tuna at Capitol Theatre

Set 1
  • Been So Long  
  • That'll Never Happen No More  
  • Walkin' Blues  
  • I'm Talking About You  
  • Roads and Roads &  
  • In the Kingdom
  • Hesitation Blues  
  • Ode for Billy Dean
  • Bowlegged Woman, Knock Kneed Man  
Set 2
  • Serpent of Dreams
  • Living Just for You
  • Wolves and Lambs  
  • I Can't Be Satisfied  
  • Sea Child
  • Trial by Fire  
  • Good Shepherd  
  • Rock Me Baby  
  • Funky #7
  • Hit Single #1