Full Show Audio: MMJ Honors Gregg Allman At Peach Music Festival

Last night My Morning Jacket made their debut appearance at the Peach Music Festival at Montage Mountain in Scranton. Yesterday was the first full day of music which featured performances from Lettuce, Greensky Bluegrass, God Street Wine, The Magpie Salute and more. The Louisville-based band held down the headlining slot on The Peach Stage, with the group offering up a two-hour-plus, career-spanning set that featured a tribute to the late Gregg Allman and the debut of a song by George Harrison.

MMJ opened the night with an energy-building take on “Victory Dance,” the opening track from their 2011 release Circuital. From there the band kept their psychedelic Southern rock vibe going, working their way through “Compound Fracture” from 2015’s The Waterfall, “I’m Amazed” from 2008’s Evil Urges and the arena-rocker “Mahgeetah,” from 2003’s It Still Moves.

A little past the midway point of their set, Jim James & Co. offered up a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ In The Wind,” which they debuted earlier this summer. The Dylan classic segued straight into the biggest surprise of the night as The Jacket honored the spirit of the festival with a debut cover of the Allman Brothers Band’s “Melissa” as a tribute to Gregg Allman much to the delight of the crowd.

Their take on the Gregg Allman-penned track wound its way into their second debut of the night – a cover of George Harrison’s “All Things Must Pass,” which featured a portion of “The Beautiful Ones” by Prince. James had previously covered the Harrison track last fall during his solo tour and originally recorded it back in 2009 for this George Harrison tribute EP, which he put out under his Yim Yames moniker.

My Morning Jacket closed out their inaugural Peach Festival appearance with some of their some more wild, weird and expansive material including an 11-minute take on “Phone Went West,” “Wordless Chorus,” the bouncy, disco-beat of “Touch Me I’m Going To Scream, Pt. 2,” and closing out the night with their anthemic signature rocker “One Big Holiday.”

Watch My Morning Jacket’s take on “Melissa” and “All Things Must Pass,” listen to full show audio and check out the setlist below:

[Melissa (Allman Brothers Band Cover) | themeboudin]

Audio (Taped by Ted Gakidis)


My Morning Jacket at The Pavilion at Montage Mountain

  • Victory Dance
  • Compound Fracture
  • I'm Amazed
  • Mahgeetah
  • Off the Record
  • Tropics (Erase Traces)
  • Lay Low
  • Spring (Among the Living)
  • State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U.)  
  • Steam Engine  
  • Blowin' in the Wind  
  • Melissa  
  • Circuital
  • Phone Went West
  • Wordless Chorus
  • Touch Me I'm Going to Scream Pt. 2
  • One Big Holiday

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for My Morning Jacket.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when My Morning Jacket announces shows in your area.