The Flaming Lips Share ‘The Captain’ Video


Oklahoma rock band The Flaming Lips are gearing up to issue Greatest Hits Vol. 1 via Warner Bros. Records on June 1. While a vinyl edition sticks to the group’s most beloved material, a Deluxe 3-CD Edition mixes singles, album cuts, studio outtakes and previously unreleased tracks spanning 1993 – 2017. One such outtake is “The Captain,” a track Flaming Lips recorded during the sessions that spawned 1999’s The Soft Bulletin. Today, the group has released official video for “The Captain.”

The Soft Bulletin is The Flaming Lips’ ninth studio album. In 2006, Warner Bros. issued The Soft Bulletin 5.1, a two-disc package that contained a remastered CD and DVD-Audio disc featuring a 5.1-channel surround sound mix of the LP. “The Captain” didn’t make the cut for the original release but was included on The Soft Bulletin 5.1 and now will be available on Greatest Hits, Vol. 1’s deluxe edition.

Longtime Flaming Lips producer Dave Fridmann remastered all the tracks found in the collection from the original tape sources. Greatest Hits, Vol. 1 is currently available for pre-order here.

Wayne Coyne is joined by Flaming Lips’ touring members Matt Duckworth and Nick Ley in the clip as per Rolling Stone. Watch the official music video for “The Captain” below:

Greatest Hits Vol. 1 Tracklist


Side One

  1. Do You Realize??
  2. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1
  3. Race For The Prize
  4. Waitin’ For A Superman
  5. When You Smile
  6. She Don’t Use Jelly

Side Two

  1. Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)
  2. The W.A.N.D.
  3. Silver Trembling Hands
  4. The Castle
  5. The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song

Deluxe Edition (3-CD & Digital)

Disc 1

  1. Talkin’ ‘Bout The Smiling Deathporn Immortality Blues (Everyone Wants To Live Forever)
  2. Hit Me Like You Did The First Time
  3. Frogs
  4. Felt Good To Burn
  5. Turn It On
  6. She Don’t Use Jelly
  7. Chewin The Apple Of Your Eye
  8. Slow Nerve Action
  9. Psychiatric Explorations of The Fetus With Needles
  10. Brainville
  11. Lightning Strikes The Postman
  12. When You Smile
  13. Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)
  14. Riding To Work In The Year 2025 (Your invisible Now)
  15. Race For The Prize
  16. Waitin’ For A Superman
  17. The Spark That Bled
  18. What Is the Light?

Disc 2

  1. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1
  2. In The Morning Of The Musicians
  3. All We Have Is Now
  4. Do You Realize??
  5. The W.A.N.D.
  6. Pompeii Am Gotterdammerung
  7. Vein Of Stars
  8. The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song
  9. Convinced Of The Hex
  10. See The Leaves
  11. Silver Trembling Hands
  12. Is David Bowie Dying?
  13. Try To Explain
  14. Always There, In Our Hearts
  15. How??
  16. There Should Be Unicorns
  17. The Castle

Disc 3

  1. Zero To A Million
  2. Jet’s (Cupid’s Kiss Vs. The Psycho Of Death)
  3. Thirty-Five Thousand Feet Of Despair
  4. The Captain
  5. 1000ft Hands
  6. Noodling Theme (Epic Sunset Mix #5)
  7. Up Above The Daily Hum
  8. The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song (In Anatropous Reflex)
  9. We Can’t Predict The Future
  10. Your Face Can Tell The Future
  11. You Gotta Hold On
  12. What Does It Mean?
  13. Spider-man Vs Muhammad Ali
  14. I Was Zapped By The Lucky Super Rainbow
  15. Enthusiasm For Life Defeats Existential Fear, Pt. 2
  16. If I Only Had A Brain
  17. Silent Night / Lord, Can You Hear Me

Tour Dates for
The Flaming Lips

  • Feb
  • Feb