Exclusive Premiere: Magic In The Other Shares New Single ‘Light In My Window’


Bay Area trio Magic In The Other will issue their debut album What We Know Is Possible on September 14 via Mighty-O Records. JamBase is pleased to premiere the band’s new single “Light In My Window.”

Magic In The Other features drummer and bandleader Ezra Lipp (Phil Lesh & Friends, Sean Hayes), guitarist Roger Riedlbauer and bassist Steve Adams (ALO, Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers). The innovative trio formed early last year and assembled at the end of 2017 at John Vanderslice’s famed Tiny Telephone studio in San Francisco to record their debut album. “‘Light In My Window’ was one of the last songs brought to the table before we started recording, yet it’s hard to imagine the record without it,” Lipp tells JamBase about the new single. “MITO’s core trio instrumentation for this song is fleshed out with synthesizers, glockenspiel, melodica, piano, lap steel (Dan Lebowitz) and a chorus of singers (including Kelly Mcfarling and Lia Rose).”

Ezra and the band were happy with how the studio version of “Light In My Window” turned out. “The result sounds like a sci-fi indie rock tune that crescendos with an epic extended bliss-fueled outro,” Lipp adds. “After finishing the song our producer advised us not to place it last as not to ‘bury’ this record highlight, but we just couldn’t resist closing out the whole story with such a riveting track and heartfelt sentiment, and to us it was the perfect way to end the record!”

Listen to MITO’s new single “Light In My Window”:

What We Know Is Possible is currently available for pre-order here.

What We Know Is Possible Tracklist

  1. How Is This All Ending?
  2. Broke Whales
  3. East of Change I
  4. East of Change II
  5. Thin Veil
  6. Power of the Pelicans
  7. Child’s Tune
  8. Loveencee
  9. Light in My Window

Tour Dates for
Magic In The Other