Exclusive Premiere: Grant Farm & Friends Share Selections From ‘Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1’


Meeting On The Mountain, a collaborative live broadcast experience, was birthed out of a 2014 EP recorded by Cosmic Americana act Grant Farm and Portland, Oregon-based root rockers Fruition. In 2015, Grant Farm launched the first Meeting On The Mountain LIVE broadcast in which the quartet served as house band with frontman Tyler Grant as host. The EP yielded the song “Meet Me On The Mountain,” written in earnest the day before the recording session by Fruition’s Jay Cobb Anderson and Tyler Grant, which has become the theme song for the live broadcast show. Each Meeting On The Mountain LIVE broadcast contains live performances and interviews. Highlights from the first 10 installments will be released as a live album on Friday, March 23. JamBase is pleased to premiere five selections from Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1.

Grant Farm recruits musical guests the band admires and/or has a connection to for all Meeting On The Mountain live broadcasts. Over the years Grant Farm has backed a number of musicians for the ten installments including Bill Nershi of The String Cheese Incident, Todd Sheaffer of Railroad Earth, Andy Hall of The Infamous Stringdusters and Dave Bruzza of Greensky Bluegrass. There’s also resident guest Benny “Burle” Galloway.

The 15-track Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1 begins with “Lazy Gold,” a song composed by Tyler Grant, Mimi Naja of Fruition and Benny Galloway. Grant Farm’s take on “Lazy Gold” was part of Episode #4, which was recorded on September 13, 2015. “No Stopsigns” is the second track and features its songwriter, John Magnie a founding member of New Orleans rock band The Subdudes. Grant Farm and Magnie performed the version of “No Stopsigns” found on the LP during the tenth episode. One of Bill Nershi and Jilian Nershi’s contributions to the live album is its third track, “Dancing With A Broken Heart.” The husband and wife performed the song they wrote backed by Grant Farm on March 1, 2015 at the inaugural Meeting On The Mountain LIVE event.

Railroad Earth’s 2014 album The Last Of The Outlaws contains Todd Sheaffer’s “One More Night On The Road.” Sheaffer led a version of the song on Episode #2, which took place on May 3, 2015 and is the fourth track on Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1. Fittingly, in a full circle of sorts, the LP ends with “Meet Me On The Mountain,” which not only was part of the EP that inspired the project, but also serves as its theme song. Sheaffer and Ragged Union added to the take found within the second episode and is the 15th and final track on Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1.

Listen to five selections from Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1:

Andy Hall, Benny “Burle” Galloway, Liz Barnez, Jordan Ramsey, Michael Kirkpatrick, Reed Foehl, Megan Burtt and Dead Winter Carpenters also make guest appearances on Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1. Episode 11 of Meeting On The Mountain LIVE will also serve as the release party for the live album. Grant Farm will be joined by Jilian & Bill Nershi, TAARKA and Benny “Burle” Galloway at The Lyric in Fort Collins on Thursday, March 22. Tickets are available here with a free live stream set to begin at 8 p.m. MT via MeetingOnTheMountain.com.

Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1 is currently available for pre-order here.

Meeting On The Mountain LIVE Volume 1 Tracklist

  1. Lazy Gold
  2. No Stopsigns (feat. John Magnie)
  3. Dancing With A Broken Heart (feat. Bill and Jilian Nershi)
  4. One More Night on the Road (feat. Todd Sheaffer)
  5. Brand New Start
  6. Whiskey Bay (feat. Liz Barnez)
  7. Two Cents
  8. Lucky (feat. Benny Galloway and Jordan Ramsey)
  9. I’m Your Man (feat. Michael Kirkpatrick)
  10. Rags N’ Bones (feat. Reed Foehl)
  11. Tears Of The Earth (feat. Andy Hall)
  12. How Far I’d Fall (feat. Benny Galloway and Andy Hall)
  13. Pick Me Up (feat. Megan Burtt)
  14. March Winds (ft. Bill and Jilian Nershi and Dead Winter Carpenters)
  15. Meet Me On The Mountain (ft. Todd Sheaffer and Ragged Union)

Tour Dates for
Grant Farm