Exclusive Premiere: The Congress Shares New Album ‘The Game’

By Andy Kahn Sep 7, 2016 10:00 am PDT

On Friday The Congress will issue their second full length album entitled The Game via the American Paradox record label. In advance of the release quartet’s sophomore LP, JamBase is pleased to present an exclusive premiere of the entire nine-song album.

“This is an album that has, in some way, shape, or form, been brewing for years,” said guitarist and vocalist Scott Lane. “A year to write it. A day here and a day there in between all of our travel — over the course of at least a year — to track it. To finally get this out there and let everyone hear it is such a release to us, and serves to both pay respect to that time period, and to signify a new chapter for The Congress. We look forward to seeing everyone out there on the road!”

The new chapter includes the band’s relocation from Denver to their original hometown of Richmond, Virginia as well as drummer Raphael Katchinoff, who recently joined the band replacing outgoing member Mark Levy who before exiting recorded the new album along with bassist Jonathan Meadows and keyboardist Chris Speasmaker. The foursome held sessions Macy Sound Studios in Denver for the recording of The Game with additional tracking done in Richmond at Montrose Studio with engineer Adrian Olsen.

The self-produced LP follows-up their 2014 debut LP Whatever You Want. Give a listen to The Game exclusively below:

The Congress will tour extensively in the coming months in support of the new record, including a hometown show on September 22 at The Broadberry in Richmond, a West Coast Run in October, Halloween at The Orange Peel in Asheville, North Carolina and a tour of Spain in November.

The Game Tracklist

  1. Home Again
  2. New Amsterdam
  3. When I Got The Time
  4. Poison And Antidote
  5. Ain’t It Easy
  6. The Game
  7. This Ain’t Livin’
  8. September
  9. Farewell

Tour Dates for The Congress

JamBase Collections