Eric Slick Enters ‘New Age Rage’ On New Guest-Filled Album & Reveals Headline Tour Dates

Watch the music video for lead single “Lose Our Minds.”

By Nate Todd Feb 7, 2024 12:06 pm PST

Eric Slick detailed a new guest-filled album, New Age Rage, arriving on April 26 via Thirty Tigers. The Philadelphia-born, Nashville-based singer-songwriter, multi instrumentalist and longtime Dr. Dog drummer shared the lead single “Lose Our Minds” along with headlining 2024 Spring Tour dates.

New Age Rage, the follow-up to Slick’s 2020 solo debut album Wiseacre, features a host of collaborators including his wife singer-songwriter Natalie Prass as well as Diane Coffee, Finom (fka OHMME), Liam Kazar, mmeadows, VV Lightbody, Kimaya Diggs, members of Butcher Brown, Deep Sea Diver and more. Slick and Andy Molholt (Speedy Ortiz) co-produced the record with mixing from Jeremy Ferguson (Be Your Own Pet, Lambchop).

New Age Rage “is a statement about humankind’s harrowing future, served on a silver platter of rapturous rock music, robot-funk, sleazy disco and experimental synth-pop,” as per a press release. “Across the 10-track opus, Eric Slick confronts the dangers of modern pitfalls like artificial intelligence, self-driving cars and mass media manipulation, while exploring the impossibility of living in the moment, the struggles of being accepted as one’s truest self, and – above all – the perilous sin of perfectionism.”

Lead New Age Rage single “Lose Our Minds” encapsulates the themes on the album and is a conceptual reinterpretation of Prince’s “1999.”

“‘Lose Our Minds’ is the manifesto for New Age Rage,” Slick stated. “Everyone has gotten so impulsive and reactive, myself included. We don’t give ourselves a second to think about the consequences of our actions. This song is my way of saying, let’s shed our toxic behaviors and embrace our flaws. When you turn to dust, you become a star. Why shouldn’t we cut loose and get on the dance floor while we’re still here? Relationships are the most important thing to nurture, so I invited my whole community to contribute to this album. We threw our whole lives into it, and I’m so excited to share it with you. It’s my favorite record I’ve made yet.”

Watch the music video for “Lose Our Minds” below:

Eric Slick and his band will present New Age Rage this spring with theatrical and experiential productions planned for the forthcoming tour dates which get underway at The Middle East Restaurant and Nightclub in Cambridge, Massachusetts on April 24.

Among the Eastern U.S. tour stops are Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Pittsburgh, Chicago, Atlanta and Nashville. Shows in Los Angeles and San Francisco mark Slick’s first solo concerts on the West Coast. The spring trek wraps at Portland, Oregon’s Show Bar on May 15.

Find Eric Slick’s full tour routing with ticket info below:

Loading tour dates

New Age Rage Tracklist:

  1. The Moment
  2. Freakin’ Out
  3. Lose Our Minds
  4. Ratboy Two
  5. Philadelphia Lights
  6. Anxious To Please
  7. New Age Rage
  8. Darkest Shade Of Red
  9. Silhouette Of A Dream
  10. Perfectionism
JamBase Collections