Eric Clapton & Robben Ford Trade Solos In Bologna

Watch Clapton, Ford and more on a Joe Cocker classic.

By Nate Todd Oct 11, 2022 1:11 pm PDT

Eric Clapton hit the Unipol Arena in Bologna, Italy on Monday. The legendary guitarist welcomed fellow axeman, Robben Ford, for a Joe Cocker classic to cap off the concert.

Clapton’s production consisted of an acoustic frame sandwiched by two electric sets. The first electric excursion got underway with “Tearing Us Apart” from the guitarist’s 1986 album, August. The first electric set also saw blues standards popularized by Charles Segar (“Key To The Highway”) and Muddy Waters (“I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man”), the latter written by Willie Dixon. Clapton also included his cover of Bob Marley’s “I Shot The Sheriff.”

Covers in the acoustic set included J.J. Cale’s “After Midnight” and the standard “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out.” Eric also offered the acoustic version of the Derek & The Dominos classic “Layla” ahead of the poignant solo cut “Tears In Heaven.”

The second electric set kicked off with Clapton’s Cream co-write with George Harrison, “Badge,” followed by the ballad “Wonderful Tonight.” No Clapton show would be complete without Robert Johnson’s “Cross Road Blues,” which fell in the 13th slot ahead of Elmore James’ “The Sky Is Crying” and the J.J. Cale classic “Cocaine.”

Clapton and the band returned with renowned guitarist Robben Ford — whose impressive resumé includes collabs with Miles Davis, Joni Mitchell, George Harrison and more — for a one-song encore consisting of the rousing Joe Cocker tune “High Time We Went.” Clapton keyboardist Paul Carrack led the ensemble through the number, which saw Eric and bassist Nathan East along with backing vocalists Katie Kissoon and Sharon White joining him on the chorus.

The solo section contained a piano run from the man who co-wrote “High Time We Went” with Cocker, Chris Stainton. Ford then reeled off some fiery licks before Clapton followed suit on the next solo slot. Guitarist Doyle Bramhall II also got in on the action before drummer Sonny Emory put an exclamation point on the song and concert.

Watch fan-shot video of Robben Ford joining Clapton and company on “High Time We Went” below:

Eric Clapton (See 52 videos) and Robben Ford (See 4 videos)

Loading tour dates


Eric Clapton at Unipol Arena

Electric Set I
  • Tearing Us Apart
  • Key to the Highway  
  • I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man  
  • River of Tears
  • I Shot the Sheriff  
Acoustic Set
  • Honey Bee  
  • After Midnight  
  • Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out  
  • Layla  
  • Tears in Heaven  
Electric Set II
  • Badge  
  • Wonderful Tonight
  • Cross Road Blues  
  • The Sky Is Crying  
  • Cocaine  
  • High Time We Went
  • Joe Cocker
  • Robben Ford
JamBase Collections