Eaux Claires Festival Announces Eaux Claires Hiver & 2020 Return

By Andy Kahn Oct 9, 2019 6:56 am PDT

Eaux Claires festival organizers announced Eaux Claires Hiver. The four-day event featuring Justin Vernon, Aaron Dessner, Ani DiFranco, Jon Hopkins, Pieta Brown, William Brittelle and others takes place at various venues in Eaux Claire, Wisconsin on November 21- 24. The announcement also revealed the return of the Eaux Claires Festival in July 2020.

Described as “an immersive weekend of performance and improvisation” Eaux Claires Hiver will be presented across three main events. Thursday, November 21 features “Ani DiFranco and Justin Vernon in Conversation” at the Pablo Center at the Confluence’s RCU Theatre. The same venue will host “Justin Vernon and the TU Dance troupe present: Come Through” on November 22, 23 and 24. There will also be “37d03d Performances” at venues around Eaux Claire on November 22 and 23. Here’s more on 37d03d at Hiver:

After gathering earlier in the week to compose and collaborate, members of the 37d03d (upside-down “People”) present music, visual art, and literature in a variety of spaces and settings with audiences ranging from a handful to hundreds. After a year in which the main festival lay fallow, this portion of Eaux Claires Hiver echoes the tradition of fall plowing, when farmers turned the earth before it froze, so it would be soft for the seeds come spring. The results of the residency will be viewed in progress and in proximity with the understanding that the pieces—and the experience—will inform and flavor July 2020’s Eaux Claires V.

Only 500 tickets will be sold for 37d03d performances at Eaux Claires Hiver. Find more information here. View the lineup below:

Eaux Claires Hiver 37d03d Participants

  • JT Bates
  • William Brittelle
  • Pieta Brown
  • S. Carey
  • Aaron Dessner
  • Ani DiFranco
  • Gail Ann Dorsey
  • hrrrbek
  • Jon Hopkins
  • Elsa Jensen
  • La Force
  • Mike Lewis
  • Metropolis Ensemble
  • Ryan Olson
  • Shahzad Ismaily
  • Michael Perry
  • Polica
  • Talos
  • Korde Arrington Tuttle
  • Justin Vernon
  • Jeremy Ylvisaker
JamBase Collections