Dolly Parton Enlists Outrageous Array Of Guests For 1st Rock Album ‘Rockstar’

Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr, Stevie Nicks, Warren Haynes and Steve Perry are just a few of those who collaborated with Dolly.

By Scott Bernstein May 9, 2023 11:54 am PDT

Recent Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee and legendary country star Dolly Parton will release her long-awaited rock album, Rockstar, via Butterfly Records on November 17. Parton recruited an all-star roster of rock royalty and contemporary artists to contribute to the 30-song collection including Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr, Sting, Stevie Nicks, Steve Perry, Miley Cyrus and Warren Haynes.

Rockstar combines nine original songs and 21 rock covers such as “We Are The Champions,” “Purple Rain,” “Heart Of Glass” and “Heartbreaker.” Surviving Beatles McCartney and Starr reunited to join Dolly Parton, Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood on “Let It Be,” which closes the album. Steve Perry makes a rare appearance singing Journey’s 1982 smash “Open Arms.” Other jaw-droppers on a tracklist filled with them include “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” featuring P!nk and Brandi Carlile, “Stairway To Heaven” featuring Lizzo and Sasha Flute, “I Want You Back” featuring Steven Tyler with Warren Haynes and “Magic Man” featuring Ann Wilson with Howard Leese.

Dolly Parton stated the following about her forthcoming Rockstar album:

“I’m so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album Rockstar! I am very honored and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure. I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

This Thursday, May 11, Dolly Parton will release the album’s lead single, an original entitled “World On Fire.” Parton will perform the song that night during the 58th annual Academy of Country Music Awards. The 77-year-old musician will co-host the awards show with Garth Brooks at The Ford Center in Frisco, Texas.

Check out the outrageous tracklist for Rockstar below:

Rockstar Tracklist

  1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)
  2. World on Fire
  3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
  4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
  5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
  6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
  7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
  8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
  9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
  10. Purple Rain
  11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
  12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
  13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
  15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
  16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
  17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
  18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
  19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
  20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
  21. We Are The Champions
  22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
  23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
  24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
  25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
  26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
  27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
  28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
  29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
  30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections