Dinosaur Jr. Releases Surprise Live Album ‘Emptiness At The Sinclair’

Listen to an album documenting a livestream concert that took place in Boston earlier this year.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 29, 2021 9:25 am PDT

Dinosaur Jr. surprise released a live album entitled Emptiness At The Sinclair today via Jagjaguwar. The 16-track collection was recorded at an empty The Sinclair in Boston as part of a livestream concert on May 1.

Emptiness At The Sinclair goes heavy on live performances of songs featured on Sweep It Into Space, a studio album that came out one week prior to the livestream concert. Dinosaur Jr. also fit such classics as “Get Me,” “Start Choppin” and “Feel The Pain” into the set and on the new live album. Additionally, Emptiness At The Sinclair includes the trio’s beloved cover of The Cure classic “Just Like Heaven.”

Bassist Lou Barlow shared the following about the show:

It was odd going back to Harvard Square for the Sinclair show, lots of closed shops, less car and foot traffic, my first time back in a big-city since it all went down. I had lived in Boston for about 10 years from the late 80’s-90’s and the bustling square was a common destination to look for records and meet with friends. The empty pandemic feel spooked me.

Playing for a livestream is like pushing a rock up a hill trying to recreate the vibe of a real show. The isolation of the last year had made me nervous about performing again, especially in the context of Dinosaur Jr. where I typically rely on the energy of our crowd. Playing to an invisible audience and a real-time sparsely populated room of people doing their jobs (running lights, sound and staring at screens) was something different and, again, weird.

Despite all my lockdown doubts once we started playing things clicked. My mind didn’t highjack me and it quickly began to feel like a real show. Having a few decent gigs on the Sinclair stage before, it began to feel familiar and, for lack of a better word, friendly. It will be much more of a relief to get back on tour but, this Sinclair show was a good band-aid, so to speak.

Stream/purchase Dinosaur Jr.’s Emptiness At The Sinclair below:

Emptiness At The Sinclair Tracklist

  1. Bulbs of Passion
  2. Thumb
  3. I Ain’t
  4. I Met The Stones
  5. Garden
  6. Just Like Heaven
  7. I Ran Away
  8. Tarpit
  9. Been There All The Time
  10. Get Me
  11. Pieces
  12. Feel The Pain
  13. Start Choppin
  • Dinosaur Jr. Postpones 1st Leg Of Fall Tour Due To COVID

    Dinosaur Jr. Postpones 1st Leg Of Fall Tour Due To COVID 

  • Dinosaur Jr Performs ‘Tiny Desk (Home) Concert’

    Dinosaur Jr Performs ‘Tiny Desk (Home) Concert’ 

  • Dinosaur Jr. Announce New Album 'Sweep It Into Space' & Share Single Featuring Kurt Vile

    Dinosaur Jr. Announce New Album 'Sweep It Into Space' & Share Single Featuring Kurt Vile 

JamBase Collections