Happy Birthday Dickey Betts: The Allman Brothers Perform In Gainesville 1982


The Allman Brothers Band co-founding guitarist Dickey Betts turns 76 today. Born Forrest Richard Betts in West Palm Beach, Florida on this date in 1943, the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame inductee was a member of the ABB through their various incarnations until 2000. Betts penned some of the group’s most beloved songs including “In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed,” “Jessica,” “Blue Sky” and “Ramblin’ Man.” JamBase celebrates the occasion with pro-shot video from The Allman Brothers Band’s January 16, 1982 performance on the campus of the University Of Florida in Gainesville, Florida.

Betts was joined in the 1982 ABB lineup by fellow founding member Gregg Allman as well as guitarist Dan Toler, bassist David Goldflies, keyboardist Mike Lawler and drummer David “Frankie” Toler. The Allman Brothers Band roll through nine songs in the video below starting with “Jessica” and ending with “Ramblin’ Man.” Included within are such classics as “You Don’t Love Me,” “Blue Sky,” “Southbound” and “Whipping Post.”

Watch The Allman Brothers Band’s January 16, 1982 performance below via Music Vault:



  1. 0:00:00 – Jessica
  2. 0:05:54 – You Don’t Love Me
  3. 0:10:46 – Blue Sky
  4. 0:14:51 – I Never Knew How Much
  5. 0:19:29 – One Way Out
  6. 0:26:44 – Southbound
  7. 0:33:26 – Statesboro Blues
  8. 0:38:13 – Whipping Post
  9. 0:48:31 – Ramblin’ Man

Tour Dates for Dickey Betts