Delicate Steve Sings? Find Out On New Bill Withers-Inspired Single

Watch the Joe Cappa-directed music video for “I’ll Be There.”

By Nate Todd Jun 12, 2024 9:29 am PDT

Delicate Steve (Steve Marion) announced a new album, Delicate Steve Sings, due out on August 16 via ANTI-. The renowned guitarist previewed the record with the Bill Withers-inspired single, “I’ll Be There.”

Inspiration is all over Delicate Steve Sings. Press materials detailed the eureka moment for Marion.

One night while on a trip to Greece, Marion looked out over the sea while listening to Willie Nelson’s pop standards record Stardust, a cosmic epiphany washing over him about what his next record could be. Delicate Steve Sings is a record centered on channeling iconic voices with his guitar. In doing so, Marion is casting himself in the role of iconic singers like Willie who make standards their own. In the process, he reveals just how singular (dare we say iconic) that voice is. The guitar sings these songs—smoothly, sweetly, boldly, and on its own terms.

Delicate Steve’s band for the new LP includes Jonathan Rado on bass, Kosta Galanopolous on drums and Renata Zeiguer providing strings. Marion collaborated with co-writer Elliot Bergman to round out the material on Delicate Steve Sings, which features some covers but is not a straightforward standards record.

Case in point, lead single “I’ll Be There,” inspired by the late great Bill Withers.

“His music is so sincere it’s almost impossible to believe it when you first hear it,” Marion said of Withers. “I came up with what the guitar is playing while thinking of his song ‘Lean on Me.’ Once I felt embarrassed enough about what I was playing, I knew that’s what it had to be.

“I’ll Be There” arrived with a music video directed by Joe Cappa. The filmmaker detailed the new visual.

“To me the song evokes endless love,” Cappa said, “and since I recently acquired some super 8 film I thought ‘why not make a trendy wedding video with it?’ Steve and I gathered up some friends, headed to Palm Springs and shot the music video over the weekend. Everyone was a trooper on set- enduring a super cold and windy shoot in Joshua tree and lugging around awkwardly crafted puppet women.”

Watch the Joe Cappa-directed music video for “I’ll Be There” below.

Delicate Steve also recently announced tour dates around Sings. The October trek includes two-night stands in Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Toronto and Chicago, among other stops. Scroll down for Delicate Steve’s itinerary with ticket info.

Loading tour dates


Delicate Steve Sings Tracklist:

  1. Cherry
  2. Baby
  3. I’ll Be There
  4. Easy For You
  5. Yesterday
  6. Medieval Eyes
  7. Wind Won’t Blow
  8. Stay With Me
  9. Walkin’
  10. These Arms of Mine
JamBase Collections