Deer Tick Welcomes Courtney Marie Andrews For ‘Up Where We Belong’ In Brooklyn


Deer Tick began a run of three shows in Brooklyn with a performance at the intimate Rough Trade NYC on Tuesday night. The Providence-based quartet brought out opener Courtney Marie Andrews to duet with John McCauley on Jennifer Warnes & Joe Cocker’s “Up Where We Belong” as part of last night’s concert.

McCauley, guitarist Ian O’Neil, bassist Chris Ryan and drummer Dennis Ryan presented a career-spanning set of music on Tuesday that showed off the band’s versatility. Deer Tick kicked off their main set with “Bluesboy” and fit in a rendition of The Velvet Underground’s “Pale Blue Eyes” among classics “Baltimore Blues #1,” “Easy” and “These Old Shoes” within the first half of the frame. Andrews emerged in the middle of the stanza to contribute to the cover of the song from An Officer & A Gentleman’s soundtrack.

John McCauley followed the duet by turning in a solo piano version of “Goodbye, Dear Friend.” Later in the night, Deer Tick tackled covers of The Pogues’ “White City” and Ben Vaughn’s “Too Sensitive For This World.” Live staple “Mange” ended the set and the evening’s encore included “Jumpstarting” and “Ashamed” as well as a take on Santo & Johnny’s “Sleepwalk.” Deer Tick and Courtney Marie Andrews now head to Music Hall Of Williamsburg for shows on Thursday, May 2 and Friday, May 3.

Watch video of the guest spot captured by themeboudin:


Deer Tick at Rough Trade NYC

  • Bluesboy
  • The Dream's in the Ditch
  • Clownin' Around
  • The Bump
  • Easy
  • Hey! Yeah!
  • Baltimore Blues No. 1
  • Pale Blue Eyes  
  • Card House
  • Doomed From the Start
  • These Old Shoes
  • Wants/Needs
  • Up Where We Belong  
  • Goodbye, Dear Friend  
  • Strange, Awful Feeling
  • Art Isn't Real (City of Sin)
  • Hell on Earth
  • White City  
  • Miss K.
  • Dirty Dishes
  • Too Sensitive for This World  
  • Mange
  • Jumpstarting
  • Sleep Walk  
  • Ashamed
  • The End  

Tour Dates for
Deer Tick