David Crosby & The Lighthouse Band Announce ‘Live At The Capitol Theatre’ Album & Share Single

Watch “1974” from the upcoming live album and concert film.

By Andy Kahn Oct 4, 2022 7:36 am PDT

David Crosby will for the first time release a solo live album, Live At The Capitol Theatre, featuring the acclaimed singer-songwriter backed by The Lighthouse Band. The pending album and concert film, which arrive digitally, and in CD and DVD formats, on November 25 through BMG, were previewed with the single “1974.”

The Lighthouse Band features Becca Stevens, Michelle Willis and Snarky Puppy‘s Michael League. The band takes its name from Crosby’s 2016 solo album, Lighthouse, which was recorded with the trio of musicians.

The 16-song Live At The Capitol Theatre was captured on December 8, 2018. The show was the culmination of a tour in support of the 2018 album, Here If You Listen that again saw Crosby working with Stevens, Willis and League. Along with “1974,” the live album/concert film includes fellow Here If You Listen tracks “Glory,” “Janet” and “Vagrants of Venice.” The release also contains recordings of Lighthouse tracks “The Us Below,” “Things We Do For Love,” “By The Light Of Common Day,” “The City,” and “Look In Their Eyes.”

Rounding out the set is a cover of Stevens’ “Regina,” as well as “Woodstock” by Joni Mitchell. Those appear alongside Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young classics “Ohio,” “Guinnevere” and “Déjà Vu” and the Crosby & Nash song “Carry Me.”

According to press materials, “1974” is a “long-lost demo track that Crosby had floating around on his computer hard drive for decades.” Regarding the song, League stated:

“I found the demo and I listened to it. I fell in love with this and I thought, you know, Crosby should finish this and he said, ‘Man, it’s been sitting on my computer for 40 years, so you know, whatever, sure,’ so I sent it to Becca Stevens and she was like, ‘give me a crack at it’ – so she came in a couple of days later with four-part harmonies for the entire song, lyrics for the entire song, and we sat down that day and kind of fine-tuned things, and so 44 years after it’s kind of conception a song was born.”

Watch David Crosby & The Lighthouse band perform “1974” from Live At The Capitol Theatre below:

David Crosby
David Crosby (See 14 videos)

Loading tour dates

Live At The Capitol Theatre Tracklist

  1. The Us Below
  2. Things We Do For Love
  3. 1974
  4. Vagrants of Venice
  5. Regina
  6. Laughing
  7. What Are Their Names
  8. By The Light of Common Day
  9. Glory
  10. The City
  11. Look in Their Eyes
  12. Guinnevere
  13. Janet
  14. Carry Me
  15. Déjà Vu
  16. Woodstock
JamBase Collections