‘Dave’s Picks Volume 27’ Features 1983 Grateful Dead Concert


The next installment of the Grateful Dead’s Dave’s Picks series of live archival releases is the first to pull from the band’s mid ’80s period. Dave’s Picks Volume 27 features the Grateful Dead’s September 2, 1983 performance at the Boise State University Pavilion in Boise, Idaho and is due on July 27.

The Grateful Dead’s lineup at the time featured guitarists Jerry Garcia and Bob Weir, bassist Phil Lesh, keyboardist Brent Mydland and drummers Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart. Highlights include a stellar “Help On The Way” > “Slipknot!” > “Franklin’s Tower,” an impressive jam out of “Eyes Of The World,” the trio of “Big Railroad Blues,” “Looks Like Rain” and “Deal” and what Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux terms a “definitive take” on blues standard “Wang Dang Doodle.”

A portion of a review from The Power County Press read, “The Grateful Dead picked up their instruments and hit the first note with perfection. They never missed a note for the next three and one-half hours. People followed the flow of the tunes. Down on the floor in front of the stage was a sea of heads keeping time with the music. No one sat still. No one, except the youngsters behind us sat still. They were still and stunned.”

Dave’s Picks Volume 27 is available for pre-order via Dead.net. The original recording has been mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman. Only 18,000 individualy-numbered copies will be sold.

Watch Lemieux’s “Seaside Chat” about Dave’s Picks Volume 27:

Home v2

Disc 1

  1. Wang Dang Doodle>
  2. Jack Straw
  3. They Love Each Other
  4. Mama Tried>
  5. Big River
  6. Brown-Eyed Women
  7. New Minglewood Blues
  8. Big Railroad Blues
  9. Looks Like Rain>
  10. Deal

Disc 2

  1. Help On The Way>
  2. Slipknot!>
  3. Franklin’s Tower
  4. Estimated Prophet>
  5. Eyes Of The World>
  6. Jam>
  7. Drums

Disc 3

  1. Space>
  2. Throwing Stones>
  3. Goin’ Down The Road Feeling Bad>
  4. Black Peter>
  5. Sugar Magnolia
  6. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue