Daptone Records Shares Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings’ Video ‘Call On God’


Daptone Records will issue the final Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings album Soul Of A Woman on November 17. The label has today shared a video for the track “Call On God,” which Jones recorded prior to hear untimely death last year from pancreatic cancer at the age of 60.

Jones originally wrote “Call On God” in the late-1970s for E.L. Fields’ Gospel Wonders, a choir she performed with throughout her life at the Universal Church of God in New York City. The original recording of “Call On God” was made during sessions for their 2007 album 100 Days, 100 Nights. Jones performed piano and tracked her vocals live with the band, taking an unusually assertive role in preparing the arrangement which was held back for a possible full gospel album that never materialized.

E.L. Fields’ widow, Pastor Margot Fields, presided over Jones’ memorial service in Brooklyn last December in which several original Gospel Wonders members attended. Following the service, The Dap-Kings’ Bosco Mann (who produced Soul Of A Woman) invited the singers to the nearby Daptone House of Soul studios in Bushwick to add backing vocals to the original 2007 recording.

The resulting collaborative “Call On God” track can be heard in the video below:

Soul Of A WomanTracklist

  1. Matter of Time
  2. Sail On!
  3. Just Give Me Your Time
  4. Come and Be a Winner
  5. Rumors
  6. Pass Me By
  7. Searching for a New Day
  8. These Tears (No Longer for You)
  9. When I Saw Your Face
  10. Girl! (You Got to Forgive Him)
  11. Call on God