Courtney Marie Andrews Announces New Album ‘Old Flowers’ & Shares Single


Courtney Marie Andrews announced a new album, Old Flowers, due out on July 24 via Fat Possum Records. The singer-songwriter previewed the forthcoming LP with the single, “If I Told.”

“Old Flowers is about heartbreak,” Andrews said in a statement. “There are a million records and songs about that, but I did not lie when writing these songs. This album is about loving and caring for the person you know you can’t be with. It’s about being afraid to be vulnerable after you’ve been hurt. It’s about a woman who is alone, but okay with that, if it means truth. This was my truth this year—my nine-year relationship ended and I’m a woman alone in the world, but happy to know herself.”

Andrews enlisted the help of Andrew Sarlo, who’s worked with Big Thief and Bon Iver, to produce the record. Old Flowers also features contributions from multi-instrumentalist Matthew Davidson (who fronts the songwriting project Twain) as well as percussion from Big Thief’s James Krivchenia.


“Before we got to the studio, we agreed to prioritize making this record as cathartic and minimal as possible—focusing on Courtney’s voice and her intention behind the songs,” Sarlo explained. “Because of this, the record is all about performance. I believe a great recording is the chemistry between everything during basics and the ability to feel something happening instead of obsessing over the perfect take. Courtney embraced this approach and we ended up with a raw, natural and human record.”

After touring with Nathaniel Rateliff and The Tallest Man On Earth this spring, Andrews will celebrate Old Flowers with record release shows at Analog in Nashville on June 5 and Union Pool in Brooklyn on June 9.

Listen to “If I Told” below:


Old Flowers Tracklist:

  1. Burlap String
  2. Guilty
  3. If I Told
  4. Together Or Alone
  5. Carnival Dream
  6. Old Flowers
  7. Break The Spell
  8. It Must Be Someone Else’s Fault
  9. How You Get Hurt
  10. Ships In The Night