Cory Wong & Dave Koz Announce Collaborative Album ‘The Golden Hour’ & Share Single

By Nate Todd May 7, 2021 1:44 pm PDT

Guitarist Cory Wong and saxophonist Dave Koz announced a collaborative album, The Golden Hour, due out June 11. The Grammy-nominated artists also shared the single, “Today.”

Koz and Wong recorded the album with the latter’s 10-piece band. Cory handled production duties and wrote 10 of the LP’s 11-tracks. The album also features horn arrangements from Prince’s chief horn arranger, Michael Nelson, as well as a contribution from frequent Cory collaborator Phoebe Katis.

Wong detailed the new collaborative effort in a statement. Read his words below:

Besides “The Golden Hour” being one of Dave’s favorite songs on the album, the term conjures up an image of a quintessential part of the day, either the afternoon before sunset or just after the sun comes up. That moment is about capturing warmth and authenticity, when you feel so alive and full of energy, excited about what the future may hold. It’s that intersection between night and day, a transitional moment where momentum shifts from one thing to another.

“Recording The Golden Hour was the most fun I’ve ever had in the studio”, Koz added. “It was also the most terrifying, but in a good way, because it was all about being vulnerable and having to stand on my own musical instincts, with everyone jamming on the arrangements at the same time.”

Preview The Golden Hour with a performance video for the breezy single “Today” and also check out a trailer video for the album below:


Cory Wong (See 2 videos)
Cory Wong (See 21 videos) and Dave Koz (See 5 videos)

Additionally, Cory and Koz are set to perform The Golden Hour in its entirety from atop a houseboat cruising the St. Croix River in Minneapolis to celebrate the release. Stay tuned for more details.

The Golden Hour Tracklist:

  1. Today
  2. Getaway Car
  3. Feed The Id
  4. The Golden Hour
  5. Junkyard Dunebuggy
  6. Little Rascals
  7. Family Reunion
  8. Engine 71
  9. Your Side of Town (Art of Key Noise) feat. Phoebe Katis
  10. Together Again
  11. Gratitude
JamBase Collections