Cory Wong Details ‘Cory & The Wongnotes’ Album


Cory Wong shared more details on the album accompanying his upcoming online variety show, Cory And The Wongnotes. The LP of the same name is set for release on February 5.

The wildly prolific Wong released the trailer for Cory And The Wongnotes last Friday. While the teaser offered a glimpse into the variety show side of the project as well as the band — Sonny Thompson (bass/guitar/vox), Kevin Gastonguay (keyboards), Negah Santos (percussion), Petar Janjic (drums), Eddie Barbash (alto sax/soprano sax), Kenni Holmen (tenor sax/flute), Sam Greenfield (bari sax/bass clarinet), Steve Strand (trumpet), Jon Lampley (trumpet) and Michael Nelson (trombone/horn arranger) — the guitarist has now shared details on what the album he produced himself will look like.

The record kicks off with the enthralling theme song and also features new Wong compositions like “Merci,” “Heist” and the amazingly titled “Tiki Hut Strut.” The LP also sees contributions from frequent Vulfpeck collaborator Antwaun Stanley, frequent Wong collaborator Cody Fry and more. Also of interest, the album concludes with a “Stevie Wonder Medley.”

Check out the full tracklist from Cory And The Wongnotes below:

Cory And The Wongnotes Tracklist:

  1. Cory And The Wongnotes Theme
  2. Merci
  3. Heist
  4. Tiki Hut Strut
  5. Coming Back Around (feat. Cody Fry)
  6. Starfire
  7. United (feat. Antwaun Stanley)
  8. Headin’ Down To Bunkers
  9. Lee
  10. Bluebird (feat. Eddie Barbash)
  11. Stevie Wonder Medley (feat. The Hornheads)

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook