‘Cluster Flies’ Musicians Spotify Playlist

By Team JamBase Apr 24, 2021 1:19 pm PDT

JamBase will release Cluster Flies, a reimagining of Phish’s album Farmhouse, on April 30. This installment of Saturday Stream features a Spotify Playlist showcasing the musicians who recorded the 17 tracks on Cluster Flies.

A Cluster Flies pre-order for the 3LP gatefold – 180 gram black vinyl version featuring artwork designed by Jim Pollock is underway now through May 3 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The vinyl edition can be bundled with a hand-signed and numbered 12.5″ x 12.5″ five-color silkscreen print also designed by Jim Pollock. Visit www.clusterflies.com for purchasing information as well as full album credits and tracklist details.

Cluster Flies

  • JamBase Announces 'Cluster Flies' Covers Compilation Reimagining Phish’s Album 'Farmhouse'

    JamBase Announces 'Cluster Flies' Covers Compilation Reimagining Phish’s Album 'Farmhouse' 

  • ‘Cluster Flies’: Sylvan Esso Covers 'Farmhouse'

    ‘Cluster Flies’: Sylvan Esso Covers 'Farmhouse' 

  • ‘Cluster Flies’: Neal Francis Covers 'Dogs Stole Things'

    ‘Cluster Flies’: Neal Francis Covers 'Dogs Stole Things' 

  • ‘Cluster Flies’: Jennifer Hartswick Covers ‘Dirt’

    ‘Cluster Flies’: Jennifer Hartswick Covers ‘Dirt’ 

  • ‘Cluster Flies’: Sadler Vaden Covers ‘Heavy Things’

    ‘Cluster Flies’: Sadler Vaden Covers ‘Heavy Things’ 

  • ‘Cluster Flies’: Reed Mathis Covers ‘Bye Bye Foot’

    ‘Cluster Flies’: Reed Mathis Covers ‘Bye Bye Foot’ 

The Spotify Playlist below mirrors the Cluster Flies tracklist in presenting the artists in the same order as they appear on the compilation. Opening both Cluster Flies with a cover of “The Inlaw Josie Wales” and the playlist with his original “With News About Heaven” is guitarist William Tyler. Next comes “Ferris Wheel” by Sylvan Esso who covered “Farmhouse” for Cluster Flies.

The only artist to appear on both Farmhouse and Cluster Flies, trumpeter/vocalist Jennifer Hartswick, who covered “Dirt” with bassist Christan McBride and others, contributes “You Can’t Take It Back” from her solo album Nexus. A supergroup consisting of Amar Sastry and members of Goose, Twiddle, Tea Leaf Green and Strangefolk, were led on a cover of “Vultures” by guitarist Tim Palmieri of Kung Fu whose “Joyride” is represented on the playlist.

“Back On The Train” was covered by Daniel Donato who can be heard performing his “Luck Of The Draw.” That’s followed by “River” by Electric Beethoven which is helmed by Reed Mathis who covered “Bye Bye Foot.” Vetiver’s Andy Cabic covered “Driver” and made the playlist with “Wanted, Never Asked.”

James Petralli recruited an impressive group of musician friends (including Dr. Dog drummer Eric Slick who also contributed to “Heavy Things”) for a dub cover of “Gotta Jibboo” and he can be heard on the playlist with his band White Denim performing “I Don’t Understand Rock And Roll.” Just like his “Piper” cover on Cluster Flies, guitarist Chris Forsyth takes up a healthy dose of time with “Dreaming In The Non-Dream.”

Club d’Elf covered “Sand” for Cluster Flies, which is not to be confused with their own song “Sand” that is on the playlist. “Mountains In The Mist” was covered by Lindsay Lou who can be heard performing her “bell suite.” Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit guitarist Sadler Vaden covered “Heavy Things” with 400 Unit bassist Jimbo Hart and others. Vaden, a singer-songwriter in his own right, is represented by his solo track “Next To You.”

Multi-talented Amy Helm delivered a splendid rendering of “Sleep” for Cluster Flies. Get ready for her new album coming out June 18, What the Flood Leaves Behind, with the single “Breathing.” Lefsetz-approved keyboardist Neal Francis was tasked with “Dogs Stole Things” and is represented below with his standout “Changes, Pts 1 & 2.”

Umphrey’s McGee guitarist Brendan Bayliss twisted up a cover of “Twist” and on the playlist leads a recording of his heartfelt “Weight Around.” The penultimate track on Cluster Flies, “Bug” was covered by Strand Of Oaks whose “Ruby” would make a nice segue into a cover of Phish’s “Ruby Waves” someday (please make it happen Tim).

Closing out the playlist is guitarist Ryley Walker who turned in a mind-bending 19-minute “First Tube.” Despite having just-released the excellent album Course In Fable, it seemed only fitting to include a track from Walker’s complete cover of the Dave Matthews Band’s shelved album, 2018’s The Lillywhite Sessions, particularly that release’s 10-minute “Bartender.”

Stream the Cluster Flies Spotify Playlist below:

JamBase Collections