Chris Robinson Brotherhood Announces New Album ‘Servants Of The Sun’ & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Mar 26, 2019 6:32 am PDT

The prolific Chris Robinson Brotherhood will issue Servants Of The Sun via Silver Arrow Records on June 14. In addition to announcing their sixth LP since forming in 2011, the band also shared the album’s lead single — “Comin’ Round The Mountain.”

“I let my head go to a Saturday night at the Fillmore, and said, ‘what’s the best set we could play,’” said Robinson in a statement. “The record was conceived from that starting point. With our last couple of albums we made songs we knew we probably weren’t going to play live. This time around every one of these songs will fall into the live repertoire.” The record features 10 new originals. “The best thing about the CRB after all this time is that no matter what we’re going through, when there’s a new piece of music that everyone is interested in, the entire band gets in there and goes for it,” added Robinson.

Eight years in, Robinson praises the community that has formed around the band. “Ultimately, our ‘freak family’ are the Godhead of this thing, they’re the ones that breathed life into a lump of clay and made the scene,” said Robinson. “It’s their involvement and their participation that gives this whole thing dimension and life.” The first taste of Servants Of The Sun comes in the form of “Comin’ Round The Mountain.” Stream the single below:

Servants Of The Sun Tracklist

  1. Some Earthly Delights
  2. Let It Fall
  3. Rare Birds
  4. Venus In Chrome
  5. Stars Fell On California
  6. Comin’ Round The Mountain
  7. The Chauffeur’s Daughter
  8. Dice Game
  9. Madder Rose Interlude
  10. A Smiling Epitaph

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections