Chick Corea Announces ‘The Musician’ Documentary Film & Live Album


Renowned keyboardist Chick Corea has announced the upcoming release of a live album and documentary film set entitled The Musician. The live audio/video release captures Corea’s 70th birthday celebration concerts held at the legendary Blue Note Jazz Club in New York City in 2011.

Concord music group will issue the 3-CD/Blu-ray set on April 21. Corea is featured alongside 10 different bands and a total of 28 fellow legendary musicians. Those who appear on The Musician with Corea include Herbie Hancock, Bobby McFerrin, Wynton Marsalis, John McLaughlin, Stanley Clarke, Chick Corea Elektric Band and Return to Forever, among others. The recordings total almost four hours of live performances.

The feature-length documentary film included in the deluxe hardcover edition of The Musician showcases highlights from the Blue Note concerts as well as Corea’s life, musical career and standout collaborations.

“One question I’m asked all the time is what setting do I like best – trios or full bands – or which musician do I like best to work with?” Corea said in statement. “Do I like to play the piano more than the Rhodes? The answer to any of those questions is the same, really – it’s all so less in importance to the act of creating, and the act of collaborating with another musician.”

Watch the trailer for The Musician:

The Musician Tracklist

Disc One:

  1. Captain Marvel (Chick Corea, Return To Forever
  2. Light As A Feather (Chick Corea, Return To Forever
  3. I Hear A Rhapsody (Chick Corea, Chick Corea Trio
  4. Spirit Rides (Chick Corea, John McLaughlin
  5. Special Beings (Chick Corea, John McLaughlin
  6. I’ve Got The World On A String (Chick Corea, Bobby McFerrin
  7. Spain (Chick Corea, Bobby McFerrin

Disc Two:

  1. Overture (Chick Corea, Gary Burton, Harlem Quartet
  2. Your Eyes Speak To Me (Chick Corea, Gary Burton, Harlem Quartet, Gayle Moran Corea
  3. If I Were A Bell (Chick Corea
  4. Nefertiti (Chick Corea
  5. Zyryab (Chick Corea
  6. Mi Nina Lola (Chick Corea

Disc Three:

  1. CC’s Birthday Blues (Chick Corea, Marcus Roberts, Wynton Marsalis
  2. Caravan (Chick Corea, Marcus Roberts
  3. Hot House (Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock
  4. Dolphin Dance (Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock
  5. Cantaloupe Island (Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock
  6. Ritual (Chick Corea, Chick Corea Elektric Band
  7. Silver Temple (Chick Corea, Chick Corea Elektric Band

Tour Dates for Chick Corea