Bruce Springsteen Announces Covers Album ‘Only The Strong Survive’ & Shares Single

Watch the Thom Zimny-directed video for “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do).”

By Scott Bernstein Sep 29, 2022 7:27 am PDT

Bruce Springsteen will release a new studio album entitled Only The Strong Survive featuring 15 soul music covers through Columbia Records on November 11. The Boss previewed his 21st studio album by sharing his take on Frank Wilson’s “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” along with a video for the track directed by Thom Zimny.

Springsteen’s follow-up to his 2020 LP Letter To You was recorded at his Thrill Hill Recording studio in New Jersey with producer Ron Aniello. The 73-year-old musician looked to the catalogues of Motown, Gamble and Huff, Stax and more for the songs featured on Only The Strong Survive. Legendary vocalist Sam Moore provided guest vocals on two tracks as part of an album that also includes string arrangements by Rob Mathes and contributions from The E Street Horns as well as backing vocals via Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton.

The New Jersey native shared the following in regards to the forthcoming album:

“I wanted to make an album where I just sang. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the Sixties and Seventies? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray, and Scott Walker, among many others. I’ve tried to do justice to them all—and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music. My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”

Frank Wilson originally released “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” as a single in 1965 on the Motown subsidiary label Soul. Watch the video for Bruce Springsteen’s spin on the song below:

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band will kick off the first North American leg of their extensive 2023 World Tour in Tampa on February 1. Purchase Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band tickets via Ticketmaster.

Loading tour dates

Check out a message from Bruce about Only The Strong Survive:

Only The Strong Survive Tracklist

  1. Only the Strong Survive
  2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
  3. Nightshift
  4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
  5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
  6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
  7. When She Was My Girl
  8. Hey, Western Union Man
  9. I Wish It Would Rain
  10. Don’t Play That Song
  11. Any Other Way
  12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
  13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
  14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
  15. Someday We’ll Be Together
JamBase Collections