Brittany Howard Announces Debut Solo Album ‘Jaime’ & Shares Single


Alabama Shakes frontwoman Brittany Howard will issue her debut solo album, Jaime, via ATO Records on September 20. Howard unveiled the LP’s lead single, “History Repeats” and confirmed a fall tour of North America in support of the record.

Brittany gave Jaime the same name of her sister, who passed away when both were teenagers. “The title is in memoriam, and she definitely did shape me as a human being,” said Brittany Howard. “But, the record is not about her. It’s about me. I’m pretty candid about myself and who I am and what I believe. Which is why I needed to do it on my own.”

Brittany assembled a band that included Alabama Shakes bassist Zac Cockrell, jazz keyboardist Robert Glasper and Grammy-nominated drummer Nate Smith to work on material she brought into engineer Shawn Everett’s Los Angeles studio. She came out with an 11-track effort, the first under her own name. The inspiration came from a reflective drive from Nashville to California. “I turned 30 and I was like, ‘What do I want the rest of my life to look like?'” Howard added. “Do I want to play the same songs until I’m 50 and then retire, or do I do something that’s scarier for me? Do I want people to understand me and know me, do I want to tell them my story? I’m very private, but my favorite work is when people are being honest and really doing themselves.”

Howard’s tour begins at The Orange Peel in Asheville on August 17 and 18. Next up is a performance at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on August 19 and two nights at the 9:30 Club in Washington D.C. on August 23 and 24. A quick trip to Europe will be followed by more North American dates starting on September 18 in Milwaukee and including dates in St. Paul, Chicago, Toronto, New York City, Boston, Philadelphia, Austin, Los Angeles and Atlanta.

A pre-sale for the U.S. dates begins today using “HISTORY” as the code. Tickets go on sale to the general public for all shows but Washington D.C. (Thursday, June 27 at 10 a.m. ET) this Friday, June 28 at 10 a.m. local time.

Read a mission statement for Jaime posted by Howard on social media:

Listen to “History Repeats,” the first track and lead single from Jaime:

Jaime Tracklist

  1. History Repeats
  2. He Loves Me
  3. Georgia
  4. Stay High
  5. Tomorrow
  6. Short & Sweet
  7. 13th Century Metal
  8. Baby
  9. Goat Head
  10. Presence
  11. Run To Me

Tour Dates for
Brittany Howard