Brendan Benson Announces New Album ‘Dear Life’ & Tour Dates, Shares Single


Brendan Benson announced a new album, Dear Life, and shared the single “Good To Be Alive.” The Raconteurs co-frontman will release the album on April 24 via his bandmate Jack White’s Third Man Records and will tour in support of the LP in April and May.

The tour gets underway on April 26 at U Street Music Hall in Washington D.C. followed by concerts in Boston, Brooklyn and Philadelphia. On May 4, Benson will head north of the border for an engagement in Toronto ahead of a show in his native Detroit followed by Chicago. The tour then heads to the Pacific Northwest for a play in Portland ahead of the tour closer in Seattle on May 15. Head here for ticket info.

Dear Life is Benson’s first solo album in nearly seven years. “There’s something about this record,” Benson said in a statement. “A friend of mine called it ‘life-affirming.’ I thought it was a joke at first but then realized, well, it’s about life and death for sure. I don’t know if that’s positive or optimistic or whatever, but that’s what’s going on with me.”


Benson also spoke about the LP’s lead single. “’Good To Be Alive’ is kind of weird, to be honest,” he added. “But that’s what I’m most excited about. It says a lot about this record, it’s almost got a split personality or something. It’s totally bizarre – I still sit back and listen to it, thinking, that’s so cool! It’s like somebody else played it, it’s not the same old me.”

“Good To Be Alive” arrived with an accompanying video. Watch it below:

Dear Life Tracklist

  1. I Can If You Want Me To
  2. Good To Be Alive
  3. Half A Boy (And Half A Man)
  4. Richest Man Alive
  5. Dear Life
  6. Baby’s Eyes
  7. Freak Out
  8. Evil Eyes
  9. I’m In Love
  10. I Quit
  11. Who’s Gonna Love You