Brandi Carlile Announces New Album ‘In These Silent Days’ & Shares Single

Listen to “Right On Time” from the album due on October 1.

By Andy Kahn Jul 21, 2021 7:11 am PDT

Brandi Carlile will release a new album entitled In These Silent Days on October 1 through Low Country Sound/Elektra Records. The singer-songwriter shared the album’s lead single “Right On Time” with an accompanying video directed by Courtney Cox.

Carlile’s last album was 2018’s By The Way, I Forgive You. She also contributed to the 2019 self-titled debut album by The Highwomen. The 10-track In These Silent Days was recorded with co-producers Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings, who respectively added guitar and keyboards during the sessions at RCA Studio A in Nashville. The new album also features Carlile’s longtime musician companions “The Twins” — bassist Phil Hanseroth and guitarist Tim Hanseroth — as well as drummer Chris Powell and cellist Josh Neumann. Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of Lucius added backing vocals to “You And Me On The Rock.”

Carlile wrote the songs on In These Silent Days with the Hanseroths while on lockdown during last year’s COVID-19 pandemic. Carlile shared the statement below regarding the album:

“Never before have the twins and I written an album during a time of such uncertainty and quiet solitude. I never imagined that I’d feel so exposed and weird as an artist without the armor of a costume, the thrill of an applause and the platform of the sacred stage. Despite all this, the songs flowed through—pure and unperformed, loud and proud, joyful and mournful. Written in my barn during a time of deep and personal reckoning. There’s plenty reflection … but mostly it’s a celebration. This album is what drama mixed with joy sounds like. It’s resistance and gratitude, righteous anger and radical forgiveness. It’s the sound of these silent days.”

Watch the video for “Right On Time” below:

In These Silent Days Tracklist

  1. Right On Time
  2. You And Me On The Rock
  3. This Time Tomorrow
  4. Broken Horses
  5. Letter To The Past
  6. Mama Werewolf
  7. When You’re Wrong
  8. Stay Gentle
  9. Sinners Saints And Fools
  10. Throwing Good After Bad

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections