Bob Weir Guests With The Avett Brothers At Lockn’ Festival


North Carolina’s The Avett Brothers were the final performer of the 2017 Lockn’ Festival at Infinity Downs Farm in Arrington, Virginia on Sunday night. The Avett Brothers welcomed Grateful Dead guitarist Bob Weir to share the stage for the final six songs of their set as well as a two-song encore.

The Avett Brothers started their Sunday night set with “Satan Pulls The Strings” off 2016’s True Sadness and continued on with a career-spanning collection of originals including “Kick Drum Heart,” “Down With The Shine,” “Vanity” and “Murder In The City.” Scott and Seth Avett then led the band through a cover of Doc Watson’s “Country Blues” ahead of “Living Of Love.”

Weir, who had performed with The Avetts twice in 2014, emerged 12 songs into the set and took some time to dial in his sound before the collaboration started. Up first from The Avetts/Bobby pairing was a Weir-sung “Mission In The Rain.” Weir then added to “Go To Sleep,” the only Avetts’ original played while he was on stage. Bobby may be known for his rhythm skills, but took a few solos during his guest appearance.

The Avetts and Weir ended the main set with covers of “The Race Is On” by George Jones, “Mama Tried” by Merle Haggard, the traditional “Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad” and Bob Dylan’s “When I Paint My Masterpiece.” Both Bobby and The Avett Brothers returned to the stage after a short break to end the festival with a two-song encore of “I Know You Rider” and “I Shall Be Released.”

Watch video of The Avett Brothers’ Lockn’ set including Weir’s sit-in:


The Avett Brothers at Infinity Downs Farm

  • Satan Pulls the Strings
  • The Fall
  • Down With the Shine
  • Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise
  • Laundry Room
  • Ain't No Man
  • Morning Song
  • Vanity
  • Kick Drum Heart
  • Murder in the City
  • Country Blues  
  • Living of Love
  • Mission in the Rain  
  • Go to Sleep
  • The Race Is On  
  • Mama Tried  
  • Going Down the Road Feelin' Bad  
  • When I Paint My Masterpiece  
  • I Know You Rider  
  • I Shall Be Released