Bob Dylan Performs Rarities At Fall Tour Opener & Announces Washington D.C. Concert


Bob Dylan‘s fall tour of North America started on Friday night at the Donald Bren Events Center in Irvine, California with a show that featured two songs he hadn’t played in a long time. In addition, Dylan expanded the tour by adding a performance at The Anthem in Washington D.C. on December 8.

The legendary artist led his band through a 17-song main set and two-song encore on Friday. A change in the lineup became apparent once the ensemble took the stage as Matt Chamberlain was behind the kit instead of Dylan Band mainstay George Recile. Plus, the band was augmented by additional guitarist Bob Britt. Setlist wise, the big changes were the inclusions of “Beyond Here Lies Nothin,” “Lenny Bruce” and “Not Dark Yet.”

Dylan kicked off the show and tour with his first “Beyond Here Lies Nothin'” since 2017 and later played the first “Lenny Bruce” since 2008 and dusted off “Not Dark Yet” after seven years on the shelf. Bob Dylan originally released “Beyond Here Lies Nothin'” on 2009’s Together Through Life and “Lenny Bruce” on his 1981 album, Shot Of Love. “Not Dark Yet” appears on Bob’s 1997 LP, Time Out Of Mind.

As Rolling Stone noted, Bob played guitar on “Beyond Here Lies Nothin,” something he rarely does these days. The encore for the tour opener included the year’s first “Long & Wasted Years” as well as “It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry.” Listen to an audience recording of Friday’s show shared by Jack Frost:


Bob Dylan at Donald Bren Events Center

  • Beyond Here Lies Nothin'
  • It Ain't Me, Babe
  • Highway 61 Revisited
  • When I Paint My Masterpiece
  • Can't Wait
  • Simple Twist of Fate
  • Honest With Me
  • Tryin' to Get to Heaven
  • Make You Feel My Love
  • Pay in Blood
  • Lenny Bruce  
  • Early Roman Kings  
  • Girl From the North Country
  • Not Dark Yet  
  • Thunder on the Mountain
  • Soon After Midnight
  • Gotta Serve Somebody
  • Long and Wasted Years
  • It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry

[via Rolling Stone]

Tour Dates for
Bob Dylan