The Black Crowes Announce 30th Anniversary ‘Shake Your Money Maker’ Reissue & Share Unreleased Track

The Black Crowes are giving their 1990 debut studio album, Shake Your Money Maker, the deluxe reissue treatment in honor of its 30th anniversary. Multiple formats including 4-LP and 3-CD Super Deluxe versions of the remastered record are due out through UMe/American Recordings on February 26. The band previewed the set by unveiling the previously unreleased track “Charming Mess.”

Vocalist Chris Robinson, guitarists Rich Robinson and Jeff Cease, bassist Johnny Colt and drummer Steve Gorman recorded Shake Your Money Maker with producer George Drakoulias. The album was a huge success with over five million copies sold thanks to such singles as “She Talks To Angels,” “Jealous Again” and “Hard To Handle,” a cover of an Otis Redding classic.

Chris & Rich Robinson oversaw the 30th anniversary edition of Shake Your Money Maker with Drakoulias. The Super Deluxe versions feature the original album remastered as well as three previously unreleased studio recordings, two previously unheard demos from Black Crowes forerunners Mr. Crowe’s Garden and a live recording of the band’s December 1990 hometown concert in Atlanta. Additional goodies include a 20-page book with liner notes by David Fricke, a Black Crowes patch, setlist and tour laminate as well as reproductions of a Mr. Crowe’s Garden show flyer.

The 2-CD Deluxe version pairs the remastered original album with the collection of unreleased studio songs, demos and alternate takes, while 1-CD and 1-LP versions consisting of just the remastered Shake Your Money Maker are also available. “Charming Mess” is one of the previously unheard studio tracks included in the Deluxe and Super Deluxe editions. “We had plenty of hit songs on that record; I guess we didn’t need it,” Chris Robinson said of “Charming Mess” in a new interview with Rolling Stone. “The beginning of that song really sounds like ‘Hot Legs,'” Chris added of its likeness to the Rod Stewart classic. “Thank goodness Mr. Stewart has given us his blessing to release it after all these years.”

Stream “Charming Mess” below:

Chris & Rich Robinson reunited in 2019 after a long feud. The pair put together a new Black Crowes lineup for a 2020 tour that was postponed due to the pandemic.

Shake Your Money Maker 30th Anniversary 4LP Box Tracklist

LP1: Shake Your Money Maker (2020 Remaster)

Side One:

  1. Twice As Hard
  2. Jealous Again
  3. Sister Luck
  4. Could I’ve Been So Blind
  5. Seeing Things

Side Two:

  1. Hard To Handle
  2. Thick N’ Thin
  3. She Talks To Angels
  4. Struttin’ Blues
  5. Stare In Cold
  6. Mercy, Sweet Moan

LP2: More Money Maker: Unreleased Songs and B-Sides

Side One

  1. Charming Mess
  2. 30 Days In The Hole
  3. Don’t Wake Me
  4. Jealous Guy
  5. Waitin’ Guilty

Side Two

  1. Hard To Handle (With Horns Remix)
  2. Jealous Again (Acoustic Version)
  3. She Talks To Angels (Acoustic Version)
  4. She Talks To Angels (Mr. Crowe’s Garden Demo)
  5. Front Porch
  6. Sermon (Mr. Crowe’s Garden Demo)

LP3 and 4 The Homecoming Concert: Atlanta, GA December 1990

Side One

  1. Introduction
  2. Thick N’ Thin
  3. You’re Wrong
  4. Twice As Hard
  5. Could I’ve Been So Blind
  6. Seeing Things For The First Time

Side Two

  1. She Talks To Angels
  2. Sister Luck
  3. Hard To Handle
  4. Shake ‘Em On Down/Get Back

Side Three

  1. Struttin’ Blues
  2. Words You Throw Away

Side Four

  1. Stare It Cold
  2. Jealous Again