Billy Strings Plays Surprise Set, Debuts New Song & Welcomes Tyler Grant In Colorado

The performances were part of a two-day festival celebrating the release of Strings’ new album ‘Renewal.’

By Andy Kahn Sep 26, 2021 9:17 am PDT

Billy Strings debuted a new song and welcomed Tyler Grant yesterday at Cottonwood Meadows in Buena Vista, Colorado. Strings also performed a surprise afternoon set at day two of the two-day event celebrating the release of Strings’ new album Renewal.

Strings and his bandmates, banjoist Billy Failing, bassist Royal Masat and mandolinist Jarrod Walker, played a surprise afternoon set on the back of a flatbed truck parked in the site’s campground. The pop-up set featured covers of “Riding On That Midnight Train,” “Dark Hollow,” “Train That Carried My Girl From Town,” “Angel Band,” “Rocky Top,” “Long Journey Home,” “Big Mon,” “Doin My Time” and “Train 45.” There was also a pause for Strings and his bandmates to pet a puppy that was attending the fest.

Later that evening, Strings and his cohorts delivered three additional sets on the main stage. The setlist featured five Renewal songs, “The Fire On My Tongue,” “Hide And Seek,” “Love And Regret,” “Secrets” and the live debut of “Heartbeat of America.” The third set saw Tyler Grant adding his guitar to a trio of classic covers, “Freeborn Man,” “Ernest T. Grass” and “How Mountain Girls Can Love.”

Watch videos of Billy Strings performing Saturday at his Renewal release celebration below:

Wendy Nelson Creative Photography
Billy Strings (See 351 videos)

Set One

Relix (See 1,628 videos)
Billy Strings (See 351 videos)

Set Two

Relix (See 1,628 videos)
Billy Strings (See 351 videos)

Set Three

Relix (See 1,628 videos)
Billy Strings (See 351 videos)


Billy Strings at Cottonwood Meadows

Set 1
  • Dust in a Baggie
  • Thirst Mutilator  
  • Running
  • Watch It Fall
  • Rosa Lee McFall  
  • Love & Regret
  • Slow Train
  • A Robin Built a Nest on Daddy's Grave  
  • My Love Come Rolling Down  
  • Meet Me at the Creek
Set 2
  • Secrets
  • While I'm Waiting Here  
  • Pyramid Country  
  • Away From the Mire
  • Long Forgotten Dream
  • A Good Woman's Love  
  • Heartbeat of America  
  • Everything's the Same
  • Wargasm
Set 3
  • Fire on My Tongue
  • Bronzeback
  • Home
  • Freeborn Man  
  • Ernest T. Grass  
  • How Mountain Girls Can Love  
  • Cassidy  
  • Hide & Seek
  • Ole Slew-Foot  
JamBase Collections