Billy Strings Confirms New Album ‘Renewal’ & Shares Single

Listen to the lead single “Fire Line” off the album produced by Jonathan Wilson.

By Andy Kahn Jul 30, 2021 7:27 am PDT

Billy Strings will release a new studio album entitled Renewal on September 24 through Rounder Records. The guitarist shared the album’s lead single, “Fire Line.”

Produced by Jonathan Wilson, Renewal was recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studios. Strings (vocals, guitar, mandolin, piano, synth, guitjo) and Wilson (celesta, percussion, harpsichord) were joined by Strings’ bandmates, Billy Failing (banjo, piano, vocals), Royal Masat (bass, vocals) and Jarrod Walker (mandolin, guitar, vocals), along with guest contributors Spencer Cullum (pedal steel guitar), John Mailander (violin) and Grant Milliken (synthesizers). The 16-track LP follows Strings’ 2019 studio release, Home, that won the Grammy Award for Best Bluegrass Album.

“After winning the Grammy, I went into the studio with newfound confidence,” Strings said. “And was inspired by Jonathan’s studio and vibe. More than ever before, I trusted myself to experiment and push myself musically.”

The single “Fire Line” made its live debut on February 23 during Strings’ show at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York. The song has been played by Billy Strings an additional 10 times, including last night in LaFayette, New York. Stream the Renewal version of “Fire Line” below:

Renewal Tracklist

  1. Know It All
  2. Secrets
  3. Love and Regret
  4. Heartbeat of America
  5. In The Morning Light
  6. This Old World
  7. Show Me The Door
  8. Hellbender
  9. Red Daisy
  10. The Fire On My Tongue
  11. Nothing’s Working
  12. Hide and Seek
  13. Ice Bridges
  14. Fire Line
  15. Running The Route
  16. Leaders

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections