The Band Of Heathens & White Denim Cover Little Feat’s ‘Rock And Roll Doctor’

Listen to the opening track from the group’s forthcoming guest-filled covers album, ‘Remote Transmissions, Vol. 1.’

By Scott Bernstein Jan 7, 2022 11:55 am PST

Band of Heathens shared a cover of the Little Feat classic “Rock And Roll Doctor” featuring White Denim frontman James Petralli. The track is one of 10 covers included on The Band Of Heathens’ upcoming album, Remote Transmissions, Vol. 1.

Remote Transmissions, Vol. 1, which is set for release via BOH Records on February 25, collects highlights from the group’s year-long Good Time Supper Club livestream series. The Band Of Heathens put their focus on the weekly 90-minute variety program after the pandemic forced them off the road.

“It was nice to be able to use music as a connective thread and something that’s healing,” explained guitarist-vocalist Ed Jurdi. “We were doing it for ourselves, but the greatest benefit was how it created this community for us to hang out with our fans.”

Each episode included a pre-recorded music video consisting of a cover song performed with a guest. The Band Of Heathens previously previewed Remote Transmissions, Vol. 1 with “Tumbling Dice” featuring Nicki Bluhm and “Papa Was A Rolling Stone” featuring Ray Wylie Hubbard. Other contributors to the compilation include Margo Price, Hayes Carll, Todd Snider and Blackberry Smoke’s Charlie Starr.

Little Feat originally released the Lowell George and Martin Kibbee-penned “Rock And Roll Doctor” on their 1974 studio album, Feats Don’t Fail Me Now. Stream The Band Of Heathens’ collaboration on the song with White Denim’s James Petralli below:

Remote Transmissions, Vol. 1 Tracklist

  1. Rock and Roll Doctor Featuring James Petralli
  2. Tumbling Dice Featuring Nikki Bluhm
  3. Papa Was a Rollin’ Stone Featuring Ray Wylie Hubbard
  4. Joy Featuring Margo Price
  5. L.A. Freeway Featuring Todd Snider
  6. Night Moves Featuring Butch Walker
  7. Walls Featuring Robert Ellis
  8. The Man in Me Featuring Hayes Carll
  9. El Paso City Featuring Mark Wystrach
  10. You Got The Silver Featuring Charlie Starr

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections