Animal Collective Announces New Album ‘Time Skiffs’ & US Spring Tour 2022

Watch the video for the album's lead single, "Prester John."

By Scott Bernstein Oct 20, 2021 7:58 am PDT

Animal Collective announced Time Skiffs, the band’s first new full-length studio album since 2016’s Painting With. The quartet unveiled lead single “Prester John” with an accompanying video today and also confirmed dates for their 2022 Spring Tour of the U.S.

Time Skiffs features nine fresh songs from Panda Bear, Geologist, Deakin and Panda Bear and is set for release through Domino on February 4 in a variety of formats. Animal Collective recorded their forthcoming LP throughout 2020 with Marta Salogni handling the mix.

Animal Collective’s Time Skiffs was described in a press release:

Time Skiffs, the quartet’s first studio album in more than half a decade, feels like listening in on a conversation among four old friends, just as it felt during their inchoate early days or their Strawberry Jam heyday. These nine songs are love letters, distress signals, en plein air observations, and relaxation hymns, the collected transmissions of four people who have grown into relationships and parenthood and adult worry. But they are rendered with Animal Collective’s singular sense of exploratory wonder, same as they ever were. There are harmonies so rich you want to skydive through their shared air, textures so fascinating you want to decode their sorcery, rhythms so intricate you want to untangle their sources. Here is Animal Collective past 20, still in search of what’s next.”

The group begins a tour in support of Time Skiffs at The National in Richmond on March 8. Dates in Philadelphia, North Adams (Massachusetts), Brooklyn, Washington D.C., Boston, Sayreville (New Jersey), Pittsburgh, Detroit, Chicago, Minneapolis, Columbus and Nashville follow throughout the remainder of the month. Animal Collective will appear at Knoxville’s Big Ears Festival on March 25 before ending the excursion at The Eastern in Atlanta on March 26. Tickets for Animal Collective’s first tour of 2022 go on sale this Friday, October 22 with the full itinerary laid out at the bottom of the post.

“Prester John” combines two songs into one track. Avey Tare wrote one of the tunes while Panda Bear penned the other featured within “Prester John.” The song arrived with a video directed by Jason Lester.

Watch Animal Collective’s “Prester John” video below:

Time Skiffs Tracklist

  1. Dragon Slayer
  2. Car Keys
  3. Prester John
  4. Strung with Everything
  5. Walker
  6. Cherokee
  7. Passer-by
  8. We Go Back
  9. Royal and Desire
JamBase Collections