Watch AC/DC Perform Live In Philadelphia In 2000


AC/DC recently announced their return. The legendary Australian rock band confirmed their latest lineup and teased new music via a post on social media. This week’s Sunday Cinema features high-quality fan-shot video of a 2000 tour stop in Philadelphia with a lineup that included four of the five current members of the band.

The “new” incarnation of AC/DC finds co-founder Angus Young on lead guitar joined by longtime members bassist Cliff Williams, vocalist Brian Johnson and drummer Phil Rudd as well as Stevie Young on rhythm guitar. Stevie Young is the nephew of co-founder Malcolm Young, who retired from the band in 2014 “due to ill health” and sadly died in 2017.

In 2000, AC/DC embarked on the Stiff Upper Lip tour in support of their album of the same name. Angus, Malcom, Brian, Phil and Cliff began the run in Grand Rapids, Michigan on August 1, 2000 and brought the excursion to cities in nearly every corner of the world before closing out the tour on July 8, 2001 in Koln, Germany. The quintet performed at the First Union Spectrum in Philadelphia on August 20, 2000.

AC/DC stacked the setlist in Philly with their greatest hits as well as three songs from Stiff Upper Lip. The beloved “You Shook Me All Night Long” opened and was followed by the title track from their new-at-the-time album. A run of classics came next including such arena rock anthems as “Shot Down In Flames,” “Thunderstuck” and “Rock And Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution.” The five-piece then fit in performances of staples “Bad Boy Boogie” and “Hells Bells” between Stiff Upper Lip tracks “Safe In New York City” and “Satellite Blues.”

The Rock & Roll Hall Of Famers ended with 20-song concert with one fan favorite after another. “The Jack” led into “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap,” which was followed by the pairing of “Back In Black” and “Highway To Hell.” AC/DC closed out their main set by tearing into “Whole Lotta Rosie” and “Let There Be Rock.” For the encore, the band said farewell with “T.N.T.” and “For Those About To Rock (We Salute You).”

While we await new music from AC/DC, watch their August 20, 2000 concert:

markit aneight (See 3,192 videos)
AC/DC (See 6 videos)


AC/DC at First Union Center

  • You Shook Me All Night Long
  • Stiff Upper Lip
  • Shot Down in Flames
  • Thunderstruck
  • Hell Ain't a Bad Place to Be
  • Hard as a Rock
  • Shoot to Thrill
  • Rock and Roll Ain't Noise Pollution
  • Safe in New York City
  • Bad Boy Boogie
  • Hells Bells
  • Satellite Blues
  • The Jack
  • Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
  • Back in Black
  • Highway to Hell
  • Whole Lotta Rosie
  • Let There Be Rock
  • T.N.T.
  • For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)
  • AC/DC Confirms New Lineup Featuring Return Of Brian Johnson & Phil Rudd

    AC/DC Confirms New Lineup Featuring Return Of Brian Johnson & Phil Rudd

    AC/DC are back with a new lineup featuring a trio of longtime members who had parted ways with the band and are teasing new music.

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook