Tamaryn: Tender New Signs


Tender New Signs is the kind of record that exists where experiences connect to the senses, where memories emerge and bring with them all the feeling and imagery that had been resting just below the surface of consciousness. It's the title of Tamaryn's second album, in partnership with her longtime collaborator and San Francisco native Rex John Shelverton. The record is due out October 16 via Mexican Summer.

The roots of this musical partnership started over a decade ago. "Rex and I met in New York City where I was living in the early '00s," says Tamaryn. "We bonded instantly and over time started sharing ideas for songs. Eventually we began to collaborate on some recordings, traveling between coasts until the project inspired me to move to California indefinitely." These activities culminated in a slew of singles and the Led Astray, Washed Ashore EP. In 2010, Mexican Summer released Tamaryn's critically acclaimed LP The Waves, a collision of hypnotic psychedelia and bittersweet dream pop.

Tender New Signs' nine songs showcase stadium-sized guitars, surging with softly-lit, languid melodies and a familiar sense of purpose anchored by Tamaryn's intimate vocal delivery and unmistakable presence. See the album tracklisting below, along with the song "I'm Gone" off the forthcoming record.

Tender New Signs Tracklisting

  • 01. I'm Gone
  • 02. While You're Sleeping, I'm Dreaming
  • 03. Heavenly Bodies
  • 04. No Exits
  • 05. Prizma
  • 06. The Garden
  • 07. Transcendent Blue
  • 08. Afterlight
  • 09. Violet's in a Pool

    Tamaryn Tour Dates :: Tamaryn News

  • http://www.tamarynmusic.com

    [Published on: 7/25/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!