Claypool at Bonnaroo 2002
By Adam Gulledge
Les Claypool, along with Buckethead on guitar, Brain on drums, and original Parliament/Funkadelic member Bernie Worrell on keyboards will release their debut album The Big Eyeball In The Sky September 21 on Prawn Song Records. The release marks the first studio recording for Colonel Claypool's Bucket Of Bernie Brains, (CCBBB) which Claypool characterizes as "a traveling, oversized sock-puppet show spawned by the characters of a Tobe Hooper film and scored by Danny Elfman on bad acid.

"The chemistry between this particular ensemble has been extremely inspirational," says Claypool, "and working with Bernie Worrell has been a constant source of amazement. He is without a doubt one of the true musical geniuses of our time.

"The majority of the lyrics on this record were written at the onset of the Iraq confrontation," he explains, "so it was very difficult not to be influenced by the frustration and confusion that was felt by myself and the people around me--though somewhat dark, I tried to cloak my angst, conveying thoughts through the eyes of colorful and satirical characters."

CCBBB has drawn acclaim in just a handful of performances since their debut at the 2002 Bonnaroo festival in Tennessee. The band will tour nationally starting in October.

Here's the track listing for The Big Eyeball In The Sky:

• Buckethead
• Thai Noodles
• Tyranny Of The Hunt
• Elephant Ghost
• Hip Shot From The Slab
• Junior
• Scott Taylor
• The Big Eye Ball In The Sky
• Jackalope
• 48 Hours To Go
• Ignorance Is Bliss

JamBase | Everywhere
Go See Live Music!

[Published on: 7/22/04]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!