The Decemberists: The King Is Dead


The King is Dead
The Decemberists have announced a January 18, 2011 release date for their new album The King Is Dead (Capitol Records, EMI). Rough Trade Records will be releasing The King Is Dead in the UK and Europe on January 17. The album—a set of 10 concise, country-based songs—marks a deliberate turn towards simplicity after the band’s wildly ambitious and widely acclaimed 2009 song-cycle The Hazards of Love. Produced once again by Tucker Martine, The King Is Dead features special guest appearances by Gillian Welch on seven tracks and legendary R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck on three tracks.

The Decemberists will be performing the album’s lead single “Down by the Water” on Conan O’Brien’s newly launched late show Conan on TBS on November 18. “Down by the Water” will be released digitally on November 16. A pre-order of The King Is Dead will launch at beginning November 22.

Track Listing
1. Don't Carry It All
2. Calamity Song
3. Rise to Me
4. Rox in the Box
5. January Hymn
6. Down by the Water
7. All Arise!
8. June Hymn
9. This is Why We Fight
10. Dear Avery

The Decemberists Tour Dates :: The Decemberists News :: The Decemberists Concert Reviews

[Published on: 11/16/10]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »