(Asheville, NC) -- The second annual Mountain Oasis Music Festival is being moved to a new location, announced today by the event's promoter. The Festival moves this year to The Van Hoy Farms, in Union Grove, NC.

"While we love many things about the previous location, we encountered some unanticipated problems as we were working out details for this year's festival," said festival promoter Ashley Capps of A.C. Entertainment. "In searching for solutions, we began to consider alternate sites. The Van Hoy Farms offered an attractive opportunity that enabled us to overcome these difficulties. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this move. Overall, this location will allow for a much more enjoyable experience for everyone."

The Van Hoy Family has been hosting music festivals on their site for decades, going back to the nationally known Fiddlers' Conventions that took place there annually throughout the 1970's. In recent years, the venue has been building on its reputation as a great place for live music, presenting music events such as George Jones & friends, gospel concerts, Smilefest, Brushy Mountain Jamboree, and many others. This site is easily accessible from the interstate, provides plentiful parking for thousands of vehicles just outside the gate, and can comfortably accommodate thousands of campers and concertgoers. The Van Hoy Farm also offers a covered open-air concert facility with a stage and seating for over 5,000 people. The 2001 Mountain Oasis Music Festival will feature a second stage showcasing regional acts.

All tickets sold for the Deerfields site will be honored at Van Hoy Farms. Those unable to attend at the new location will receive a refund upon request through Friday September 14th. Vehicle access passes are not necessary at Van Hoy Farms, and those already purchased will be refunded. All refunds are available through Tickets Unlimited. Complete festival information can be found at

The Mountain Oasis Music Festival will feature Medeski, Martin & Wood, The Wailers, G. Love & Special Sauce, Clarence Gatemouth Brown, North Mississippi AllStars, Scott Miller & the Commonwealth, Acoustic Syndicate, DJ Logic's Midnight Dance Party, Left Foot Down, The Dan Tyminski Band (a/k/a "The Soggy Bottom Boys"), and The WORD (Robert Randolph, John Medeski, & NMAS).

[Published on: 8/28/01]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!