Pretty Lights: A Color Map of the Sun


Derek Vincent Smith, better known as Pretty Lights, will release his new studio album A Color Map of the Sun on July 2. As with previous albums, the record will be available for free download on on the day of the release. Double-disc CD, vinyl, and iTunes options will also be available. Click here to pre-order. See the tracklisting below, along with the official video for "Around The Block" (featuring Talib Kweli), and a making-of clip.

Says Pretty Lights: "I began work on this album/project/experiment in February of 2011 and spent a year creating my own vinyl collection of everything I needed to produce the album I heard in my head. I spent the next year producing songs with homemade vinyl samples and a big crazy analog synth I built just for this album. It is truly Analog Electronica. It's soulful electro hip-hop that went back in time to learn from the life of its smooth ass grandparents."

A Color Map of the Sun - CD 1

  • Color of my Soul
  • Press Pause
  • Let's Get Busy
  • Around The Block
  • Yellow Bird
  • Go Down Sunshine
  • So Bright
  • Vibe Vendetta
  • Done Wrong
  • Prophet
  • One Day They'll Know
  • Always All Ways
  • My Only Hope

    Live Studio Sessions From A Color Map of the Sun - CD 2

  • Reel 15 Break 5
  • Reel 5 Break 4
  • Real 9 Break 6
  • Reel 11 Break 2
  • Reel 6 Break 4
  • Reel 8 Break 2
  • Reel 18 Session 1
  • Reel 17 Break 4
  • Reel 4 Break 3
  • Reel 12 Break 2
  • Reel 6 Break 5
  • Reel 3 Break 3
  • Reel 7 Break 1

    Pretty Lights Tour Dates :: Pretty Lights News


    [Published on: 4/15/13]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!