Rubedo The Denver based trio, Rubedo combine as three parts as they spin away from one another and create a system oscillating between disorder and unity, building structure just as it sounds like they're threatening to separate. On their first recorded whole, their full-length "Massa Confusa", each member takes turns building or tearing down through his tools. Produced by Isaiah "Ikey" Owens (The Mars Volta, Jack White) and joined on keys for a handful of tracks, "Massa Confusa" shows a band that is in harmony one instant and at war the next, and it's exactly this binary tension which defines their advancement.

Within a single song, Alex Trujillo's guitar will move between gentleness, taut restraint, and an inevitable cathartic explosion. Greg Ziemba's nuanced drumming holds structures together in one hand and expresses itself furtively with the other. And somewhere between or in front of these two energies is Kyle Gray, setting song machines in motion on a synth's edge, or with the melodic gathering of notes on well-traveled nylon strings. But it's his haunting voice and evocative lyrics that are most immediately magnetic and forceful, individuated from the instruments and also urging them forward.

Massa Confusa is Rubedo's first stage, in which the prevailing structures are dismembered and creative chaos barely governs their universe. Most apparent in the quieter, compassionate moments on the LP, these disparate forces have gone from emerging as three to merging as one. Rubedo will move forward, or upwards, or beyond only through this process of coming together and tearing apart.