Junip Junip was formed in Gothenburg, Sweden, in the late '90s by José González (guitar, vocals), Elias Araya (drums) and Tobias Winterkorn (organ, moog). Their first 7" came out in 2000 and they self-released the Black Refuge EP in 2006. RCRDLBL distributed the single "Chickens/Azaleadalen" in 2009. Junip has periodically gathered together and recorded when schedules permitted, but this is the first time the members will focus exclusively on the band. An EP and full-length will be released in 2010 with Mute in the US and Canada, City Slang in Europe, Shock in Australia and Ultra-Vybe in Japan. Global touring will commence this spring. A short American tour has been confirmed to start on June 8th in Brooklyn, NY, ending in Seattle on June 19th. The touring band will add two members.

Says González about the band: "We are really happy to have had the time to write and record these songs and now are excited to have the opportunity to play them live."

Their sound can be familiar to those who have listened to González's critically acclaimed records, but added to the mix on top of his nylon stringed guitar and distinctive voice are organs, synths and drums. The songs are often dynamic, melodic and shadowy.