Hooray For Earth
Hooray For Earth Hooray for Earth is a New York City-based rock band built around the home-recordings of singer and multi-instrumentalist Noel Heroux. The group first emerged publicly as Hooray for Earth in late 2005 in Boston, Massachusetts. The band played shows and self-released early demo recordings locally in Boston and the surrounding area until Heroux moved to New York City in August 2007. On February 26, 2008, Dopamine Records released the six-track ''Cellphone'' EP, which was recorded during the months leading up to Heroux's departure to New York. Following Heroux's relocation, the Hooray for Earth project laid primarily dormant, until early 2009 when Heroux teamed up with Brooklyn local producer/engineer Josh Ascalon to co-produce a group of new recordings. Several months of casual studio work produced a set of songs which would find release in the form of the ''Momo'' EP. ''Momo'' was first released by eMusic Selects, a program in which unknown, unsigned artists are hand-picked by eMusic's editors for exclusive digital-only releases through the site. Dovecote Records later re-issued ''Momo'' (June 1, 2010) including an additional track, new artwork and CD/Vinyl formats. The band have toured the United States extensively following the release of ''Momo'', including support slots for The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Surfer Blood, A Place to Bury Strangers and Architecture in Helsinki. In October 2010, Hooray for Earth's one-off single "A Place We Like" was released as a free download. The song, recorded at RAD Studio in Bushwick, Brooklyn, is a collaborative production between Hooray for Earth and Brooklyn musician Twin Shadow. In July and August of 2010, Heroux spent six weeks writing and recording material for Hooray for Earth's first full-length LP, ''True Loves''. Heroux performed, engineered and produced the album, with Ciampini, Principe and Benacquista entering the studio periodically with instrumental contributions. Several of the album's songs feature vocal contributions by New York City noise-pop group and frequent collaborators Zambri. The album was mixed by Chris Coady. ''True Loves'' was released by Dovecote Records on June 7, 2011. ''True Loves'' received generally positive reviews with a Metacritic rating of 81/100. In fall 2011, Hooray for Earth toured the United States with Staten Island band Cymbals Eat Guitars. London based record label Memphis Industries released ''True Loves'' in Europe in February 2012, with lead single "No Love" landing prominently on BBC's Radio 1 playlist. "No Love" is featured in the soundtrack of the video game ''MLB 12: The Show''. Hooray For Earth is currently touring in support of the European release of ''True Loves''.