Elf Power
Elf Power Leading independent label Rykodisc announced today the April 25th release of a new full length album from Athens, GA indie pop rockers Elf Power. The band spent most of last year recording their first Rykodisc release entitled "Back To The Web," which contains 12 new songs and is the band's first release since 2004's "Walking With The Beggar Boys." The self-produced "Back To The Web" is chock full of the band's signature lovely pop melodies, but a distinct progression is evident in the songwriting and the lush, full production. The folkier tunes are laced with strings and the heavier ones scream psychedelia; influences of T.Rex, Bob Dylan, and even "Wall"-era Pink Floyd can be detected. Singer / songwriter Andrew Rieger comments, "I was listening to a lot of middle eastern folk and gypsy music when I started writing these songs and I tried to emulate some of those sounds by combining 12 string acoustic guitar with violin and accordion. Our last album was more of a straight ahead rock record, so in reaction this one came out as more of a dark, orchestrated folk rock album."

Formed in Athens, GA in 1994, Elf Power was spawned from the legendary Elephant 6 collective that also produced Olivia Tremor Control, Neutral Milk Hotel, Of Montreal and Apples In Stereo. For the "Web" sessions, the band, whose founding members include Andrew Rieger on vocals, Laura Carter on accordion and keys and Brian Poole on bass, was joined by John Fernandes (of Olivia Tremor Control and Circulatory System) on violin and clarinet, Jimmy Hughes on guitar, Heather McIntosh on cello and new drummer Josh Lott. The band has spent the past twelve years making albums and touring the globe, sharing bills with the likes of R.E.M., Dinosaur Jr., Wilco and Guided By Voices.

Elf Power also runs their own land conservation group/record label called Orange Twin. The group involves 150 acres of land on the outskirts of Athens, GA which is currently being turned into a self sustainable, low impact village and nature preserve.