The Von Ehrics
The Von Ehrics The Summer of 2000 was hotter than nine kinds of hell in the Red River Bottom of North Fannin County Texas. That's where a couple of Texas boys named Robert Jason Vandygriff (guitar/vocals) and Jeffery Wayne Mosely (bass) were when they birthed the idea for a little outfit called the Von Ehrics. There was no shortage of empty Shiner Bock, Corona and Jim Beam bottles as well as a number of spent shotgun shells on that muggy evening when this idea of country punk rock and roll came to fruition.

These Texans had been raised on two things: the country and gospel music that they were fed as little Texans (and is somewhat of a birth-right based on location) and the punk rock and metal bands they found as rebelious teenagers. They put the two together and the gods smiled. You want a defintion? Here's a few: It is country punk rock and roll. Honky-tonk metal, if you will. It's straight forward country-styled songs played fast and loud. It is Steve Earle meets Motorhead.

The Von Ehrics believe in simplicity. They don't see a lot of worth in singing about much more than whiskey, women and the road. This Texas trio (and I'm not talking about ZZ Top) believes that Bob Wills is still the king. They believe that Merle could have been on top of the 70s punk scene and the Rancid could benefit from a Texas fiddle from time to time. They believe that there is no better way to continue the growth of punk rock and country music than to do so together.

Since that summer of 2000, the Von Ehrics spent a couple of years in honing their skills in the Deep Ellum night clubs gaining a large local following. After a successful four song EP release in 2001, the boys found the sweet spot when they released their first full-length record titled Damn Fine Drunks in 2003. Along the way the Von Ehrics added San Antonio outlaw and Lubbock legend Gabe Aguilar on drums to solidify the line up. They went on to sell about 4,000 copies all out of the back of a van called the Smokewagon. The Von Ehrics also began touring the U.S. endlessly averaging close to 200 shows a year. They have shared the stage as well as equiptment, beer and good times with the Reverend Horton Heat, Billy Joe Shaver, Mudhoney, Dale Watson, Alabama Thunder Pussy, Supersuckers, Hank Williams III, Dixie Witch, Honky and too many more to list.

In 2006, the boys began recording the long awaited follow up titled The Whiskey Sessions. It is eleven songs of in your face, Texas-styled country punk rock and roll. It shows more diversity while not straying from the recipe that put the Von Ehrics on the map.

Robert Jason Vandygriff - Vocals/Guitar
Jeffery Wayne Mosley - Bass Guitar
Gabe Aguilar - Drums