Magik Markers
Magik Markers The Magik Markers are a three piece noise rock band from Hartford, Connecticut who combine No Wave-sounds with distorted guitar noise. The members, Elisa Ambrogio, Leah Quimby and Pete Nolan started the band in their basement in 2001. Guitarist/singer Elisa Ambrogio frequently assaults her guitar with various objects or stands on it, simultaneously shouting mostly improvised lyrics into a microphone. After opening for Sonic Youth on their American tour in 2004, the band's fame started to rise. Their debut album I Trust My Guitar, Etc... (vinyl only) came out in 2005 on Thurston Moore's Ecstatic Peace label and was sold out within a year. A group of American and European tours followed, including one with fellow experimentalists Sunburned Hand of the Man.

In 2006, Gulcher Records released A Panegyric To The Things I Do Not Understand, the Markers' first proper CD. Also in 2006, the band recorded a session for Southern records' Latitudes series, which was released as The Voldoror Dance.

Leah Quimby left in May 2006 with various people filling in before they eventually settled as a 2 piece duo comprising of original members Pete and Elisa.