Tori Amos: Gold Dust


Tori Amos re-imagines a personally handpicked collection of songs spanning her entire catalogue with her thirteenth studio album, Gold Dust. Produced by Amos with arrangements by long-time collaborator John Phlip Shenale, the new album features reworkings of songs in orchestral settings which Amos recorded with the renowned Metropole Orchestra, conducted by Jules Buckley. Slated for release October 2, 2012, Gold Dust is Amos’ second recording for Deutsche Grammophon and a natural progression following 2011’s classically influenced Night of Hunters.

Gold Dust is a personal journey through the Amos songbook that reaffirms the timelessness of her music. Beloved gems like “Silent All These Years” and “Precious Things” take on new life alongside lesser-known treasures such as “Flavor” and a number of tracks underwent significant reworking when adapted for orchestra. Almost autobiographical in structure, the songs represent stories culled from Tori's own life relationships: “Jackie's Strength” is about her relationship with her mother, “Winter” is about her father and grandfather and “Snow Cherries from France” is about her husband.

"My relationship with all of these songs has changed over the years and they have changed my life. So it wasn’t just about capturing the past, it was about realizing that the songs had a new narrative now - 10 or 20 years later than they did when I originally recorded them” comments Amos.

Gold Dust Track listing

  • 1. "Flavor" (from Abnormally Attracted to Sin; 2009)
  • 2. "Yes, Anastasia" (from Under the Pink; 1994)
  • 3. "Jackie's Strength" (from From the Choirgirl Hotel; 1998)
  • 4. "Cloud on My Tongue" (from Under the Pink; 1994)
  • 5. "Precious Things" (from Little Earthquakes; 1992)
  • 6. "Gold Dust" (from Scarlet's Walk; 2002)
  • 7. "Star of Wonder" (from Midwinter Graces; 2009)
  • 8. "Winter" (from Little Earthquakes; 1992)
  • 9. "Flying Dutchman" (from "China" single; 1992)
  • 10. "Programmable Soda" (from American Doll Posse; 2007)
  • 11. "Snow Cherries from France" (from Tales of a Librarian; 2003)
  • 12. "Marianne" (from Boys for Pele; 1996)
  • 13. "Silent All These Years" (from Little Earthquakes; 1992)
  • 14. "Girl Disappearing" (from American Doll Posse; 2007)

    Tori Amos Tour Dates :: Tori Amos News


    [Published on: 9/20/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods